We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Ready for Prime Time” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3231 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Not Ready for Prime Time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This property might be suitable for the extremely budget-conscious, but it's just not up to par for the more experienced traveler.

During my stay the place was plagued by operational problems: an out-of-service elevator, a casual approach to replenishing breakfast supplies, off-and-on housekeeping service, and a front desk staff that seemed to be learning on the job. That said, the staff was friendly and good-natured...even helping me carry my luggage down from an upper floor (due to the broken elevator).

This property was formerly a Microtel and, not surprisingly, everything is sorta...small. Rooms were small, towels were small (and well-worn), counter space in the bathroom was small, the desk was small, and there was that tiny windowseat/reading area common to most Microtels.

After dark the parking lot can be a scary place, with guests and non-guests loitering and sitting in parked cars. Hallways, too, seemed to have plenty of room-to-room traffic on weekend nights.

The inn advertises rooms for as low as $57, and the location is convenient to casinos, shopping and downtown Lake Charles. Cheap as it is for this area, you might want to find a place that offers better value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    5
    10
See reviews for
5
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We left an hour after we got there because #1 we got there with our pets, paid the pet fee and everything THEN the owner comes and says pets aren't allowed after we confirmed a week prior!! #2 we had non smoking rooms but the rooms smelled like cigarettes as well as the hallway! #3 Mold all in the fridge #4 dirty carpet #5 dirty bathrooms#6. Horrible customer service! While we were in the rooms it was hot! We asked the girl why it was hot she said "it's just the time of day"...umm yea ok.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehemiah T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
May 31, 2013
Dear Traveler,


It states in our description of the property online with all of our vendors that we are not a "pet-friendly" establishment. It is also posted behind the front-desk receiving area. Payments of any kind where never exchanged between said parties. Inquiries of conformation where made, but only detailing that we had your reservations here at this property.

Your non smoking room was actually on a floor that also has some smoking rooms. We did not have a non smoking room on a total non smoking floor because we were at full capacity.
I do remember speaking with you at the time of check in when you requested to speak to me about the pet policy. Your concern was only the pet policy.

As far as the mold detected in the fridge, it was spilled frostee. We apologize for our overlook. We are always advised by our Housekeeping Department and executive housekeepers of anything that needs attention in our rooms- including dirty carpet, bathrooms, etc. These items were not mentioned to us; in addition, we started a renovation in February and are continuing to make additional upgrades to the property.

We hope you will give us another try if you are ever in the area again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed at this one on lake street had non smoking room but was on a smoking floor,when you got off the elevator the hall smelled strongly of smoke. We checked out a day early and two this day which is 15 days later they can not get my credit cake to me manager keeps the
Ling me it is my banks fault when the bank had nothing to do with it. Asked to speak to someone over him and he refuses to give me a name or a way to contact the owner,my friend that also had a room also is having the same problem.manager had nerve to ask me why I feel the need to continually ca
L him on this matter he has taken care of it, I call for it does not reflect in my bank account.

Room Tip: Can not recommend any rooms due to the fact I did not visit any other floors I can day if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Your non smoking room was actually on a floor that also has some smoking rooms. We did not have a non smoking room on a total non smoking floor because we were at full capacity.

I do remember speaking with you about checking out a day early and I remember telling you that you would get a refund after a minimum of 15 business days - and some banks take even longer.

If you are in our area in the near future, please give us another try.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Paid $100 for a room for one night and walked in to holes in the hallways, and beyond nasty carpet. Get in the room and it stinks, the mirrors are busted and there are bugs crawling all over the refrigerator. DO NOT STAY HERE. We went down the road to the Holiday Inn Express and were able to get a huge suite for $50 more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We checked our records for all of July and none of our guests paid $100 for a night's stay, so you might have this hotel mixed up with another one.

We are always advised by our Housekeeping department of anything that needs attention in our rooms - including holes in the carpet and any bugs that are detected - and we immediately take action to take care of those items. These above items were not mentioned to us; in addition, we started a renovation in February and are continuing to make additional upgrades to the property.

We hope you will visit us again if you are ever in our area.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were very tired from our day of traveling. Beds were comfortable, sheets were clean. Dead roach in bathroom but at least that meant the bug killer was working...Would choose another place to stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Wwe have stayed here several times, most recently for my daughters graduation. This is a nice hotel and an excellent value. The staff is very friendly and it is in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I really hate to give this hotel such a low score because all of the staff were very helpful, freindly and attentive. Unfortunately it could use a good cleaning, the carpets in the rooms were so dirty they turn your socks black, the refrigerator in my room didn't work, the pool was down the first day I was there and the bathroom received a good bleach cleaning by me. The hall on the third floor really smelled of smoke, but after one of the other patrons mentioned it on her way past the front desk, it smelled a lot better when I got back. I checked for bed bugs and found none, so that was good. The pool was working the next day and that was nice to cool off in. Really with just a good detailed cleaning and a little minor maintenance this could easily be a 3 to 31/2 star hotel. the bed was very comfortable and they have some newer LCD flat screen tv's in the rooms and again the staff is very nice and helpful. if you want to save some money and don't mind doing a little cleaning yourself go ahead and give it a try. It is changing brands from MIcrotel to America's Best Inns and Suites, so maybe it will get some updating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

Address: 3231 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Lake Charles
Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles
Microtel Lake Charles
Lake Charles Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.