We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Lake Charles

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Lake Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Lake Charles
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1350 E Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 28 hotels in Lake Charles
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    41
    16
    9
    9
See reviews for
40
32
13
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After our son was born we needed to stay in LA, waiting for permission to bring him out of state. He and I stayed at the Super 8 in Lake Charles for almost 2 weeks. We originally were placed in a smoking room but asked to be switched do to the baby. They were very accommodating with no hassle. I became friends with the people at the front desk, getting directions and food recommendations from them whenever I needed them.
The room was well cleaned daily. There is also a continental breakfast in the morning, set out by another friendly worker.
The pool is gated outside.
There is a nice exercise room and computers to use if you need to print anything off.
There is a laundry facility too.

Room Tip: Two story hotel with no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midge S, Director of Sales at Super 8 Lake Charles, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Congratulations! Thank you for allowing us to take care of your family while in the Lake Charles area. We are pleased you had a great stay at our Super 8 Lake Charles. We hope to see y'all again in the future should your travels bring you back to LA.

Thanks,
Midge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were passing through Lake Charles and just needed a place to spend the night. The front desk person was pleasant and helpful and the price was reasonable. They room had a mini-fridge and although basic, was comfortable and clean. The breakfast the next morning included sausage, eggs, biscuits, cereal and waffles, juice and coffee. The facility needed some updating, but overall, it was okay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midge S, Director of Sales at Super 8 Lake Charles, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to review your stay. We have updated several things this year, and are always striving to compete in the travel industry market. We hope that like you travelers will enjoy the clean, comfortable room at a fair price with a free hot breakfast at our Super 8 Lake Charles, and will continue to visit.

Thanks again,
Midge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was very nervous about Super 8 because I think we all have this stereotypical image of a dirty, dingy hotel where all of the badly filmed murder movies take place. As I entered the lobby, I was very impressed. It was chic and modern and the front desk staff had us checked in very quickly. She had one earphone in, but she delivered great service. The breakfast was nice, but instead of being in an open area like most hotels, it was in what appeared to be a converted room. There was a good variety of things to eat. The check out staff was very friendly and chipper and of great help. All in all, one of the nicest hotels I have stayed at! Very friendly staff, great location, delicious breakfast, plenty of pillows, comfortable beds, clean room. In conclusion, I would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midge S, Director of Sales at Super 8 Lake Charles, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
First of all, I must admit that your review made my day! I took the liberty of sharing your review of our hotel on facebook as well. It truly is rewarding to hear from guests regarding our Super 8 Lake Charles. We are very happy that you chose to stay with us despite your hesitation, and that you were very satisfied with your choice. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the future, and invite you to visit Super 8 website for the best available rates when traveling.

Thanks,
Midge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BALDWINSVILLE
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Smelly room--smelled like smoke. We didn't get service on the day we asked to have it cleaned after 2:00pm. Had to go to the front desk and ask for towels--he said they didn't have any folded, so he had to go upstairs to get them.

Room Tip: We had a room that had been smoked in and the smell was terrible. A couple of days we didn't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midge S, Director of Sales at Super 8 Lake Charles, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasuarable stay with us. We hope that you will give us another chance to provide superior service to you the next time you are in the Lake Charles area.

Thanks,
Midge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lake Charles

Address: 1350 E Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lake Charles 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles
Super Eight Lake Charles
Lake Charles Super 8
Lake Charles Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.