We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of America's Best Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added America's Best Inn and Suites to your Saves list
America's Best Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Lakeshore Drive, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
“Not a good stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for the night 6/15/13. First room I was put in the a/c didn't cool. Gave it time on high and as cold as it could go on thermostat and still didn't cool the room after 3 or 4 hours. I was upgraded to a "whirlpool" suite had problems with that a/c not cooling. The lady at the front desk came in and helped. Also said I would be given a 10% discount since the second room had problems too. I didn't get the 10% and was charged more for the so called upgrade. Spoke with someone after I noticed the charge on my card. I got the extra charged credited back but since the lady at the front desk no longer works there (two days later) I will not be given the 10% discount. I doubt I'll be staying at another America's Best Inn & Suites again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at America's Best Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We apologize for the problems with the AC units not working properly. We are currently replacing all suites with brand new AC's. I am sorry about the charge on your credit card but happy it was corrected. If you would call me I will make sure your 10% is credited back to your card. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience you encountered. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    10
    9
    11
See reviews for
12
15
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Lady at front desk very rude and not accommodating not friendly.... lady cooking food and serving drinks was very nice and friendly. Room looked OK until we realized sofa bed completely broke refrigerator broke night table broke...when i reported to night staff that sofa bed was broke he didn't even apologize he told me that being in handicap room we were lucky we had a sofa bed well the thing is we didn't ask for handicap room that is what they gave us...shower had someone else's hair all over shower walls...I understand things break and stuff happens but the worst part is when your staff isn't even apologetic about the inconvience that's what is annoying...I do have to say breakfast was very good....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at America's Best Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I do apologize for your experience with the front desk staff and the maintenance issues in your room. Those maintenance issues were immediately resolved. We do not tolerate rudeness at the front desk and that person was terminated. We really hope you will give us another chance. Thank you again for your comments as these are the best tools in making sure every guest has a great experience. Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

In town for a soccer tournament. Front desk worker was rude to some others who came in and aske for information or flat out ignored them. I was being checked in by a male, who while he was not rude, did not engage me at all. Offered some information to some he checked in but not to others. The festival Contraband Days was in full swing. When the other family with which we were traveling came in it took a long time. My room was not clean. The finish on the tub was cracked and missing in many places. The bathroom floor tile was cracked. The decor was 1980's, I thought it might be well kept because the facility is close to the civic center it was not. The elevator interior was green faux marble finish. the doors and walls of the elevator were scratched with graffiti. Our room did have the pocket door to divide the rooms, but then the room with the pull out sofa was hot. At approximately 4:50 one of the travelling friends wanted some coffee, we went to the manager's reception. The only thing available was buffalo wings. I went up to get the wings and was told by the person who set up the "reception" that I couldn't eat becuase it was not 5:00. But I did point out to him that he had buffalo wing sauce all over his face. The next morning, I also saw him wearing a maintenance uniform. People couldn't get extra towels because according to the desk clerk, housekeeping was not doing their job. Other families we were traveling with came over to walk to the festival and the female desk clerk was rude to them. Sofa in lobby needs to be repaired. I only wish I had photos.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at America's Best Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I am very sorry about your experience during your stay. I have addressed the issues in your comment with my staff to make sure these do not occur again. Your business is very important us and we hope you will give us another chance. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Do not stay here. There are be bugs. Stayed here 5/11/2013. I just I did not bring them home with me. I got bit bad. This place is old. Not well kept. The carpet is old. I slept on the couch I on a first floor room.

Room Tip: Stay away find another place. If you stay inspect the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, Manager at America's Best Inn and Suites, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
I just wanted to personally apologize for the bug bites you got in your room. We immediately called Terminex to come out the next day to spray and check the room. We take this very seriously. All rooms are sprayed once a month due to our hotel being pet friendly. We would like to make it up to you. Please give me a call at the hotel. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lobby is dingy and carpets throughout are just plain dirty and the place smells. Someone is making good $ from this place because it was nearly full. When you see a sign over the check-in that says "No Partying" you begin to wonder. Room layout was weird with a half wall separating sitting area from bed. One bolt of Toilet seat was broken and the fixtures were definitely 1980s. Furniture in room was early attic and the heat/air did not work; just blew air with fan on. Breakfast was sausage and scrambled eggs and ok except the good looking mixed fruit was still too frozen to eat. Staff was very nice and friendly. There are a lot of nicer places to stay in Lake Charles even though they may be more than $80 a night, it would be worth it.

Room Tip: Not sure that there are any rooms that one would recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at America's Best Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review regarding your experience at America's Best Suites in Lake Charles. We take every comment very seriously. I am dissapointed that your stay was less than satisfactory. Please accept my apologies for the maintenance issues you encountered in your room. I assure you that I will follow up with my staff on these issues. Again, we are so sorry your stay wasn't what you expected and hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful checkin the clerk cashmere was very helpful and nice. The room was very clean and 5-7 FREE beer the bartender was great too breakfast was awesome and they also have mapquest services which is very helpful if you do not know your way around the way town loved my stay will come back soon! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at America's Best Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are an important tool in providing the service our customers expect. I will personally let Kasmir know that she did a great job. Again, thank you for your comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We only stayed one night, and found the hotel clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful, making the stay more enjoyable. Everything worked in the room, and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding!! We would stay here again next time through Lake Charles. Location makes it easy to find.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at America's Best Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments concerning your stay. Our goal is to make sure all expectations are met and that every guest is satisfied. Your comments are very important. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to America's Best Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Inn and Suites

Address: 401 Lakeshore Drive, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your America's Best Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America`s Best Hotel Lake Charles
Best Hotel Lake Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage America's Best Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.