We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Hotel!!!..........with one exception” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Lake Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Lake Charles to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Lake Charles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1551 West Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Lake Villa, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hotel!!!..........with one exception”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

First time stay at this location during the Christmas holidays while visiting family in the area. Great location near lots of restaurants and stores for shopping. We loved our room, the hotel was very clean with a modern, bright and colorful decor. Nice, safe location. The staff was friendly and professional. The one negative was the breakfast. We have stayed in many hotels offering "breakfast" and I have to say this was our worst experience -- possibly due to the holidays, less staff, etc. After the third day we didn't bother. The food was not replenished for the amount of people -- not enough staff -- no fruit, not enough milk, limited selection of teas, only one side of the toaster worked -- I could go on. If not for this would have given a 5 star. Not to worry-- we do plan to be back -- hopefully will see some improvement from our first experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the freeway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us how your stay was. I'm not sure when you came down for breakfast but holidays are a busier time for us. We will definitely exceed your expecitations next time you come to visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    37
    6
    1
    4
See reviews for
46
23
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We just got home from our stay at this Springhill. Great, clean hotel. Warm and friendly staff, nice large rooms, and a fun environment. This place was 5 star! Wish I could speak as highly about the casino down the street.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We always strive to have five star service. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

All the staff are the tops. Pleasant, sincere, most helpful. The place is very clean and bright.
Location is very good. It's close to local restaurants, as there is no lunch or dinner dining on the property. The rooms do not have bathtubs, just shower, which is very large.

Room Tip: As note in other reviews even number rooms are away from the freeway. I was in an odd number room, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you can come again soon. Maybe next time you will be traveling for vacation so you can enjoy more of what Lake Charles has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Pricey for the area but considering the location it's worth it! Wish they had healthier options at breakfast but it's free so you can't be picky. Even number rooms are best as the odds are on the freeway side and can be noisey. They have a small bar.as well. Nice for a night cap without having to leave the property.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for staying at our hotel and for the feedback. We have started carrying Greek yogurt and are looking at placing a larger variety of fruit in the breakfast area. We appreciate your input and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is new and very nice, clean, and peaceful. Very enjoyable stay. the staff was REALLY nice and they have a complimentary shuttle to the casino that runs from 5 pm to 1 am. This is an awesome option if you would like to have a drink at the casino.

Room Tip: The bed was too soft for my taste but overall a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Great to hear! We really appreciate your feedback. We strive to meet all of our guests' needs and it is assuring to hear that we met your expectations. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

First impression was great. Desk attendant was very professional and kind. Made us feel very welcome. We asked about place to eat and was given a menu and a map. Staff went way beyond what was expected. I forgot my razor and was going to buy one from the lobby. Desk attendant said that they had complementary ones for no charge. Our room was on the side next to the road. There was some road noise but did not hear it once we were asleep. European style to the room was very nice. The only reason I gave Spring Hill a 5 is because I couldn't give them a 6. Very nice place. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
It's great to hear that our staff is going above and beyond for our guests. We strive to make an impression on anyone who comes to SpringHill Suites Lake Charles. We appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Visiting parts of Louisiana, we stayed at the SpringHill Suites Lake Charles. The staff got us checked in quickly and was very friendly. We stayed for only two nights for $298.00. We had a King size bed and it was very comfortable. The room was clean and had a European feel to the décor. We did take advantage of the shuttle to the casino it was quite nice. The enormous flat screen TV was a surprise. They supplied us with plenty of towels for the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpringHill Suit... L, Sales Coordinator at SpringHill Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad that we were able to help you experience Southwest Louisiana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Lake Charles

Address: 1551 West Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70605
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
#3 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Lake Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.