We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book away from the Freeway!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Lake Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Lake Charles to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Lake Charles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1551 West Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70605   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #1 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Book away from the Freeway!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. It is new and very clean and the prices are reasonable. However, do not stay in odd numbered rooms. They face I-210 and the rooms are very noisy - especially at higher floors. The staff is outstanding and very friendly. Just make sure you get on the right side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose even numbered rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    43
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
50
24
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We needed to break up our 12 hour drive home from Thanksgiving so I picked this hotel b/c it was #1 on Tripadvisor. I also read online that Marriott brands should have portable cribs. The hotel seems very new. It's right by I-10 interstate, but we stayed on the opposite side and it was very quiet. The hotel is right near a nice shopping center (we got take-out from Jo-Jo Chinese Bistro that was yummy). The crib was in our room upon arrival. We were told that it came with sheets but there were none. We asked and were told to use the sheets in the closet that go with the pull-out sofa. That was fine and worked well. The room was not huge but comfortable. The bath set-up is kind of modern with toilet and shower in separate little rooms. Shower/sink and toliet/sink room both has sliding rooms. So there are two sinks in the room. Shower is stand-up only. There is no tub. It was spacious though. Breakfast was average. Muffins and coffee were good. There is a little "marketplace" by front desk - like little vending area. I mainly noticed that they had Ben & Jerry's and Haagen Daas ice cream. Didn't see the prices.

Only bad really is that we asked for extra shampoo/conditioner and were given baby shampoo. When we asked for adult items, we were told that this is all they have. Also, we had to get our room keycards redone. Random guest opened door to our room. I guess they gave him our room by mistake. But it was quickly fixed.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms do not face the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I stayed here with my girlfriend and 4 kids over the Thanksgiving holiday visiting family. The rooms are very nice, with a hipsterish look and feel. The partion between the rooms is really a set of sliding glass panels. The bathroom is divided into two rooms, a WC and a shower room. I liked this but my girlfriend didn't. There was no bathtub, just a shower. Bedsheets, pillows, and comforter were real comfortable.

The indoor pool is heated just right and the hot tub is the hottest hot tub I've ever been in. This was a welcome change from most lukewarm hot tubs.

The breakfast buffet was simply wonderful. Eggs, sausage, pastries, cereal, oatmeal, grits, and a do it yourself waffle iron. Coffee was high quality as well.

The whole property is brand new and very close to the casino, Prien Lake Mall, and I-210.

My son got lost at this hotel and the staff were on it quick. He was found within 5 minutes (wandered into the hotel elevator accidentally). Every request I had to the front desk was granted (i.e. the boys wanted to watch cartoons while my gf and I were finishing up breakfast).

You can certainly do a whole lot worse, but I really don't think you can do any better.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great location. Request a room on front side of hotel (even numbered rooms) as the back side faces the interstate which creates alot of traffic noise. Friendly staff. Basic breakfast selections, waffles, cereal, scrambled eggs, etc. Rooms are somewhat smaller than what you usually have for a suite, however, the rooms are nice and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niwot, Colorado
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

To be clear, I would give this property 3 1/2 stars, if I could. It is good, but not quite very good. The facility is new and the staff is friendly. The rooms are functional,clean and the beds comfortable. There are some rough edges:
1. My reservation was not in order. I booked two rooms one of which was to be an accessible room. We were assigned two non-accessible rooms. In all fairness, I booked the rooms on line and I could have made the mistake during booking.
2. The desk clerk reassigned us to an accessible room, which upon entering the room turned out to be a regular room.
3. We changed rooms again and finally moved into an accessible room. After two nights, the morning of the third day at the Hotel, someone opened the room door and came in. It turned out that they had assigned the room to a new guest a day prior to our check-out date. Upon further investigation, the clerk that checked us in upon arrival, who had reassigned the room, did not change the room in the computer and it showed us still in the original room. The front desk clerk on duty during the morning of the third day, who had assigned a new guest to our room then called the 82 year old disabled person in the room and told him, he was not supposed to be in that room, he should be in the original non-accessible room. It all got sorted out in the end, but it indicates some more training of the staff may be required.
4. We arrived back at the Hotel around 6 pm one evening and found the door propped open with the security latch. There was no housekeeping cart outside of our room, but when we entered the housekeeper emerged and said she had to check the towels. This was kind of odd, but nothing was missing.

In summary, the Hotel was adequate and the sleep quality was good. The location is convenient to the many chemical plants, refineries, local businesses and also the large casino. It is a good choice for personal and corporate business. We will at least give it another try when back in Lake Charles.

Room Tip: The higher floors are more quiet. There are busy roads both in the front of the Hotel and the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This brand new location was great in every way. The room was perfectly designed and immaculately clean. The bedding was so luxurious and comfortable, the continental breakfast was totally fine...all in all a great stop. The front desk staff was extra awesome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

We were diverted into Lake Charles and Millionaire FBO at Chenault Airport due to some weather at home!

The great airport staff told us the place to go was the BRAND new Marriott Springhill suites. We definitely wanted to go to the casino but they told us the rooms were the best in town and there was a free shuttle to the casinos.

This hotel was amazing...was everything a Marriott is supposed to be and more! Very clean and spacious rooms.. Super comfortable beds and of course the free breakfast were notable as well. Everything was new including gym equipment and pool areas..even have a bar area downstairs in evening which was populated each night of our stay..

Great hotel! Best in town...

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Lake Charles

Address: 1551 West Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70605
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
#3 Family Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Lake Charles 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your SpringHill Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.