We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick stop great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1201 W. Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
baton rouge,la
1 review
“Quick stop great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The management went out of their way to check me in early and provide a ready room...also they found triple a batteries which were delivered free of charge. I don't often stay at la quintals but this stay will likely prompt future stays

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    24
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
49
31
12
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Very nice hotel in a great location. The staff is very friendly, and helpful. The rooms are very nice and well maintained. I like having the complementary breakfast, workout center, and free wifi. This is the second week I have stayed here, and will continue to stay here throughout the job we are performing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

It is really nice to motor into a motel after a drive and be greeted by a smiling face with a cheery attitude. Who is obivously in the business of making the guest feel important and welcome. That is the LQ experience at its very best. This location has been exactly like that since it first opened. The entire staff is first class. They treat every guest as though they owned the place. I always look forward to visiting this location because I know that a relaxing stay is in store. We could chose to stay at the casino hotel but I doubt that we would get any better accomdations and the cost would certainly be much greater.

Way to go Prien Lake LQ!

Room Tip: We have had rooms on every floor of this location. I always perfer a room away from the elevators b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great beds and room was clean and comfortable. After getting to my room, I was actually called by the front desk and asked if everything in the room was good and asked if there I needed anything. Breakfast was great because they use REAL eggs, not powder eggs or premixed- I will stay at LaQuinta next time for that reason alone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The stay was pleasant despite the sloppy rainy weather outside. Comfortable and clean hotel room. The staff made adjustments when one was needed due to a room with a faulty shower. The complimentary breakfast was fine. It featured your basic eggs, breakfast meats, breads, cereals, etc...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Louisiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

First off, we found the $155 for one Friday night to be extremely out-of-line, but we always stay at LQ and figured there must be something special.

Road construction was going on in front of the hotel the Friday afternoon we arrived and the Saturday morning we left, so it was difficult getting to our room after a long drive.

When we did check in, we noticed how "clean" the lobby smelled and upon personal inspection on the way to Room 309, we were very pleased with the cleanliness of everything from the carpet to the elevator. Many times a dingy elevator can stick out like a sore thumb, but not at this LQ.

Our room was quite cold when we arrived and there was a sign on the AC unit telling us the thermostat was located on the wall for regulating the room temperature. We noticed a neatly-made bed, nice desk, a console with hidden fridge and microwave and the room was nice and big.

There was a little hum or vibration coming from inside the console that became a little irritating, but we learned to overlook that. It was probably the fridge compressor.

We tried to take a nap before going out for the evening, but were not able to sleep due to the heavy room doors on each room being opened and shut. They literally shook the walls when they were being shut. In addition, the elevator had an audible tone just before the door opened that was entirely too loud. Our room was well away from the elevator, but we heard the bell signal very well each time the elevator opened. Upon investigation, I am sad to say that the opening and shutting doors was being done by hotel personnel--apparently someone in housekeeping with a male supervisor.

Off to our plans for the night and we discovered the road blocks were gone from just outside the hotel parking lot. When we returned, we were surprised to locate a parking space near our entry door. When we got to our room we both showered and hit the bed. It was very comfortable with several pillows and we fell asleep quickly, hoping to sleep until around 10 a.m. the next morning before checking out.

Sometime around 8 a.m. Saturday morning the elevator bell began going off and we began hearing the doors being opened and slammed again. Needless to say, our plans for sleeping in were shot. Since this is a hotel with all rooms inside, it was easy to pick up any vocal noises outside the room. "Housekeeping" was announced along with knocks on the door and if the guests had vacated their room we could tell by the opening and slamming of the heavy entry doors.

The employees were careful to acknowledge us whenever we passed in the hallways and met on the elevator.

I blame the noise that disturbed us on the people who designed the building. The doors were the heaviest I have ever seen and they shut with a loud thud each time they are closed. The loud "ding dong" elevator bell had to register heavy on everyone's ear drums.

Other than the doors, housekeeping announcements and loud elevator bell, we enjoyed our stay, even though $155 plus tax ($177) was entirely too much for this hotel. They were completely booked up, so I guess they can charge what they want.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the elevator as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd

Address: 1201 W. Prien Lake Road, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Lake Charles Prien Lake Rd, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.