We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean and friendly staff !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Great location, clean and friendly staff !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

I would recommend this hotel for an overnight or weekend stay. Very clean, friendly staff and located in a good area. Good rate and very helpful front desk. We will definitely stay here again when we come to Lake Charles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    8
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
28
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

the property is off the regular highway exit but worth the drive - a beautiful Foyer with spiral staircase. Does not look like a Holiday inn (positive statement) - very clean -excellent service - nice big rooms - would definitely revisit this one

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Valued Guest!

Thanks for being at the Holiday Inn and the nice review.

We are to see your appreciation about the hotel, the rooms and the service staff.

We are eagerly waiting to welcome you soon.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Where do I start. First of all, for me to actually put effort into something and write a review, it must be pretty bad!!
1. coffee pot was missing filter holder (2 days in a row)
2. room service book was not in my room
4. room smelled like urine
3 (and most important) they charged 500 dollars to the wrong card when reminded by my boss and I both to put the room on his card/ incidentals on mine!
Anthony was very rude when dealing with the situation and wouldn't even offer to switch me to an odorless room. This amazes me as my company owns half of LOUISIANA and will no longer be using Holiday inn for business! This is not the first problem with holliday inn express, but it will be the last. OH, and thank Anthony and his gay friend at the front desk, if they didn't act overly polite in a passive aggressive and condescending manner (THEN GIGGLE) every time I walked through the front door, I probably wouldn't be writing this!!! This is my last night and I cannot wait to leave. Would rather sleep in my truck!!! I've never been treated so poorly, You're employee's need some serious training!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go Elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear james h,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spent one night. The room was very nice. Decided to eat downstairs instead of eating out. Didn't want to fight traffic and besides it was 7 in the evening and I'm sure there would be a waiting line anyplace I went. Glad I decided to eat downstairs. Not crowded at all. The steak I ordered and the rest of the meal was delicious. The room was clean and had a great view. The bed was comfortable. Enjoyed their flatscreened T.V. Wonderful place to stay. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeland, Ms
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was in town to attend the Chenault Air Show and fly on the incredible B-29. My wife made my reservation as I was on the road and in a hurry. I had a late arrival but there was no problem.
The staff was friendly and met all my expectations. If ever in the area I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was nice, clean and I didn't really spend that much time in room. I would stay again and I liked the fact that the king suite had a separate sitting area with sofa bed and bedroom. The bathroom was spacious and the shower wasn't small and cramped.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed had a long drive and needed some rest with our kids. We are holiday inn reward members so we chose holiday inn it was 11 at night booked the room.
We checked in, our room had beer bottle open, half eaten moon pie, wet towels on bathroom floor. We paid 190.00 for this garbage, thats what being a holiday inn honor got us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jacenda H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and for that please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the overall cleanliness of your room may have caused you. Rest assured, your valuable comments are noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate department to be addressed accordingly. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Address: 2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.