We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean room and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Ridgeland, Ms
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“clean room and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was in town to attend the Chenault Air Show and fly on the incredible B-29. My wife made my reservation as I was on the road and in a hurry. I had a late arrival but there was no problem.
The staff was friendly and met all my expectations. If ever in the area I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    22
    8
    9
    7
See reviews for
19
26
6
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was nice, clean and I didn't really spend that much time in room. I would stay again and I liked the fact that the king suite had a separate sitting area with sofa bed and bedroom. The bathroom was spacious and the shower wasn't small and cramped.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i stayed had a long drive and needed some rest with our kids. We are holiday inn reward members so we chose holiday inn it was 11 at night booked the room.
We checked in, our room had beer bottle open, half eaten moon pie, wet towels on bathroom floor. We paid 190.00 for this garbage, thats what being a holiday inn honor got us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Jacenda H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and for that please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience the overall cleanliness of your room may have caused you. Rest assured, your valuable comments are noted and will be forwarded to the appropriate department to be addressed accordingly. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you for sharing your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Me and my family were in a road trip to Disney World and on our way back to Texas we stayed here. I chose this hotel because it had great reviews, but my experience was terrible. Good first: Near the Interstate and Very Nice Staff.
Bad stuff: We are still aching for all the bed bug stings we have. I have pictures to prove it. The bathroom was dirty, lots of hair near the toilet, the bathtub need serious scrubbing, dirty and lots of soap scum. The carpet dirty as well. We didn't complained because we were very very tired from the road and wanted to go to the indoor pool. Now, when you chose a hotel with an indoor pool you think it'll be warm right? This was COLD! My kids splashed a little bit, but we couldn't handle it for more than 15 minutes. The surroundings do not seem safe.
We had a bad experience here. Sorry to say it, but i wouldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear JoseLuisAngeles,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel has been built within the past 5 years, and is still pretty new and fresh-looking. The suite was fine--nothing special, but nothing to complain about, either. I heard that someone in a different room found mold on the inside lid of the ice-bucket, but I did not have the opportunity to check mine. In Southwest Louisiana, a little mold in a dark, damp spot can be very difficult to prevent, so I don't take off for that. We did not try the restaurant, and the bar closes at 9 p.m. even on weekends, so it's kind of pointless. However, the hotel was very tolerant when we took our own beverages out onto the "back porch" area late one night. Generally, they treated our whole group well. The place was clean and well-maintained.

Room Tip: The hotel is set back really far from the street, so there should be minimal street noise no matter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marksville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Found the hotel to be very clean and the staff was real professional and helpful. Not in a great part of town, but we had no issues. Indoor pool got a little crowded and was noisy. Overall, a good experience and value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

As shared by several other reviewers of this hotel, Rodney (front desk manager?) made us feel welcome from the moment we walked in the door. Arriving at 4:30 pm, we were told our room wasn't quite ready as yet.

We went over to the bar, next to a very nicely decorated front lobby, and sat for a few minutes enjoying a glass of wine. Within 15 minutes, Rodney personally walked over to the bar, handed us our keys, apologized for the delay, and gave us a coupon for free breakfast the next morning.

Our room was clean, comfortable and on the top floor as I had requested. The hotel is situated only 5 minutes from the L'Auberge Casino, which meant we were away from the crowds but close enough to enjoy our evening in Lake Charles.

We would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Address: 2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.