We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Jacksonville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a top level hotel and facility. I partciularry want to give kudos to Rodney at the night, check-in desk. The man is outstanding. Great information, polite, and a very pleasant fellow who really seems to kmnow his job.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
26
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel to be nicely situated for easy access to both area casinos, and the downtown Lake Charles area. We received their last available room, which made me nervous. Usually the last rooms to be assaigned have issues or are the worst in the hotel. If this was their "worst" room, I am impressed.

The room was spacious and clean with a seperate seating area, desk, and wet bar.

The highlight of our stay was the front desk staff. They were extremely friendly and took care of us like we were family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

From the front desk folks at check in and check out to the cleaning staff everyone was friendly and very helpful. I had to call for a late check in because of traffic from out of state and i was able to slow down and enjoy the ride knowing i was guaranteed my room. Went to a show at a local Casino and had a blast just knowing i did not have to leave early to keep my room. At the end of my day, when i finally made it to the hotel, it was so nice walking in and they even called me by name and led me to my cool, comfortable room. The room was perfect, the bed was amazing, the room was quite of course most people had probably been in bed for a few hours, and the accomidations were just exactly what i needed. Not fancy, but clean, cool and comfortable beats "fancy" anytime. I will be returning to this area, i will stay at this hotel, EVERYTIME.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

When I arrived at the Lake Charles Holiday Inn I was greeted by three charming front desk receptionists with warm smiles and a pleasant, how-can-I-help attitude. The check-in was smooth and quick. The offered cold drink had hardly been touched when I was checked-in and on my way to the room. The room was clean and comfortable. After settling in I went downstairs to the lounge. The server was pleasant and the beverage was excellent. When I mentioned that I was in town for only one night and was interested in trying some local cuisine she offered me a travel guide and pointed out a couple of nearby restaurants. I will save my comments on the restaurant for another time. When I returned to the Holiday Inn I stopped by the lounge and thanked the server mentioning that one of her suggestions was a great choice. The check-out was easy and the bill was as offered when I made the reservation. Yes, I will stay here again and do recommend this property.

Room Tip: I chose this hotel initially because it is a smoke-free facility. The hotel is located a good dista...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed there last weekend and were disappointed.
Pros: The front desk staff were very nice.
The hotel had an attractive lobby/bar/restaurant area

Cons: Had to wait a while to check in. At first there was only one working the front desk but another person came to help. They were very nice and efficient. This alone didn't cause the lower rating but coupled with the next things it all added up.

When we got to our room, the inside door lock was flipped sideways so the door was propped open. I don't like the thought that somebody (not hotel staff) could have been in there before we arrived.

The room smelled really bad. I woud have asked to change but my husband assumed all the rooms were the same way so we dealt with it. We cranked the a/c to help cut the smell and left. When we returned it was slightly better but not much.

The desk chair had arms that were all ripped up.

We like to stay at Holiday Inns (usually Express) as stop overs during our driving trips because they usually have a consistent quality. I don't expect luxury at a Holiday Inn, but I do expect a certain standard that this hotel was lacking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Shamrock1234,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is well equipped with amenities. The restaurant provided some good food at a fair price. Try the mini burgers with pepper jack cheese. Several booths have their own flat screen tv's. The bar service was attentive and friendly. As others mentioned - the bar closes promptly at 10 pm. The rooms have wifi, coffee makers, microwave, and refrigerators. They are spacious and the beds are comfortable. Pillows are on the small side so I needed all 4 to equal my 2 at home. Toieltries aren't the best so bring your favorites or make do with their discount brand. Overall, I'd stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

This property is clean, front desk and management is courteous and efficient. The fitness center is nice. The hotel falls short of great in one way. The bar closes at 10 p.m. and the pool doesnt open until 9 a.m. During our stay there were 10+ people at the bar at 10 p.m. But they closed on time on the dot. We wanted to take a quick swim before hitting the road in the morning but it was closed. So close to be an outstanding stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Address: 2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.