We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Arrived for a two night stay for business/pleasure on Friday. Was able to check in at 1PM no problem and the front desk agent was excellent. I'm a Priority Club Platinum member and was greeted as such, which is nice. Room was very clean. King bed was very comfy and on the firmer side, pillows were not too spongy or puffy. WiFi was strong but did cut out at times for a few seconds. Nice and quiet stay, will definitely go back. A little off the freeway but nicer and better value than the competition closer to 210,

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    21
    7
    9
    6
See reviews for
16
25
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The primary reason I booked this hotel was for the jacuzzi and indoor pool. I knew it was going to be bad weather, but wanted to relax in a hot tub. Well, the tub was luke warm at best. I was really disappointed. Staff was great, room was clean, location ok. Breakfast at restaurant was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Holiday Inn during your last visit.

We have referred your review and appreciate your observations.

Glad to note your positive comment on the hotel staff, rooms and location.

We shall take it seriously and wholeheartedly for improvement of all the amenities including the hot tub.

Please stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed here on business recently and while the property is new and clean, I had some issues with it.
Priceline has it rated at 3 stars probably because it can technically claim to be a full service hotel as it has a resturaunt as well as a lounge, but this is misleading because although these places do exist they very have limited hours, I believe the resturaunt is open 6am - 10am and again from 4pm -10PM and the lounge from 4pm-10pm both started rolling up the carpets at 9:30pm the night I was there.

So while they are able to just technically slide in under the 3 star rating, and charge every cent of the high end 3 star price (just under $150 per night) I certinly didn't feel like I was in a full service hotel.

The posted check in time was 3pm, I arrived a 2:30pm and was very curtly told by the gal at the front desk that check in time was at 3pm and no rooms would be ready until then... Really?? there were a total of 11 cars in the entire parking lot at the time and half of those had to be employees so I would find it extrordenary that they didn't have a single room ready.

I went and had lunch and returned at 3:30pm to check in. I am a priority club gold member, I even booked my reservation through the priority club website yet at no time during my stay was I ever recognized as such in any way shape or form, no priority check in, key not ready, the clerk had to search for my reservation, no room up grade, not even the complimentry USA today newspaper the next morning.... Nothing.

While hotel loyality clubs these days are certinly not what they used to be, I can't remember the last time I saw a more blatent disreguard for the program as I did here.

The room, while clean enough was bare bones basic Holiday Inn, nothing at all remarkable about it in any way what so ever, either no view at all or perhaps a view of the parking lot partially obstruced by a wall, don't recall exactly I just remember that it wasn't worth opening the curtins for.

Bottom line, this is really a 2 star property with an off chance of being able to get somthing to eat or drink if you happen to be there during the few hours in the morning or afternoon that they are open, do not expect a standard 3 star experience.

Room Tip: Don't bother arriving early, check in time is 3pm and not a second before
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with the Holiday Inn and we appreciate the time taken to write the review.

We take each of the review quite seriously.

Our apologies for any inconvenience you had with the stay.

We investigated the points mentioned in the lengthy review and have taken each of the responsible department to task to ensure that it never happens again.

We hope you would appreciate our efforts and do visit us to confirm this.

You will find your next stay a really nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gueydan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've never posted a comment but I felt very disappointed with our stay. I paid extra to have an Executive room and I really can't say it was worth it.

The Good- the hotel is clean and the rooms are large.

The Bad- when I made reservations, I chose this hotel because it offered a 2 queen bed Executive non smoking room and I was told it was going to be the quite floor. At 2 in the morning people were coming and going making so much noise. My son and I didn't get any sleep. So much for the quite floor.

The Ugly- check in is at 3 pm so we arrived at 4 pm and our room was still not ready. We had to wait. The other thing is that the beds are really not comfortable at all.

Room Tip: Find another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear AngelaT10,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I am glad you found our clean and hotel and large rooms commendable. I am disappointed to hear you received service that was less than satisfactory. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the check in process, uncomfortable beds and noise from our other guests may have caused. Your comments will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groesbeck, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Everyone here has been wonderful. Very professional and helpful staff! The food is amazing also, and not overpriced!
It is a little hard to find because it sits off the road a little.. Outstanding stay. I would reccomended it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Nice stay This was a very comfortable stay front desk were very friendly and helpful. I have always been reluctant to stay at H.Inn because of a horrible experience at one in Houston years ago but this one felt personal and so friendly helpful with cabs etc..room was large bed comfy, microwave and Fridge.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is NOT your "Grandmother's" Holiday Inn! Lovely hotel with great service, and definitely an upscale Holiday Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpfula nd the rooms were large, clean, and very nicely appointed. They even have a nice bar and sitting area downstairs. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor - no road noise, quiet and very clean. GREAT beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Address: 2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.