We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good, the bad, and the ugly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Gueydan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Good, the bad, and the ugly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I've never posted a comment but I felt very disappointed with our stay. I paid extra to have an Executive room and I really can't say it was worth it.

The Good- the hotel is clean and the rooms are large.

The Bad- when I made reservations, I chose this hotel because it offered a 2 queen bed Executive non smoking room and I was told it was going to be the quite floor. At 2 in the morning people were coming and going making so much noise. My son and I didn't get any sleep. So much for the quite floor.

The Ugly- check in is at 3 pm so we arrived at 4 pm and our room was still not ready. We had to wait. The other thing is that the beds are really not comfortable at all.

Room Tip: Find another hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear AngelaT10,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I am glad you found our clean and hotel and large rooms commendable. I am disappointed to hear you received service that was less than satisfactory. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience the check in process, uncomfortable beds and noise from our other guests may have caused. Your comments will help us improve our services and offer a great experience for our guest. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    9
    10
    8
See reviews for
19
29
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groesbeck, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Everyone here has been wonderful. Very professional and helpful staff! The food is amazing also, and not overpriced!
It is a little hard to find because it sits off the road a little.. Outstanding stay. I would reccomended it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Coast
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nice stay This was a very comfortable stay front desk were very friendly and helpful. I have always been reluctant to stay at H.Inn because of a horrible experience at one in Houston years ago but this one felt personal and so friendly helpful with cabs etc..room was large bed comfy, microwave and Fridge.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

This is NOT your "Grandmother's" Holiday Inn! Lovely hotel with great service, and definitely an upscale Holiday Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpfula nd the rooms were large, clean, and very nicely appointed. They even have a nice bar and sitting area downstairs. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor - no road noise, quiet and very clean. GREAT beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nice hotel. Breakfast not included, but has small restaurant which has good breakfast for $7 to $10. Worst thing: free wifi not compatible with IPads for some reason. Complained and was told "we get that complaint a lot.". I won't stay there again till this is corrected as I use my iPad to work.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayinnlakecharle, Webmaster at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Holiday Inn for your stay.

Appreciate your review and regret the inconvenience.

Nice to note that you liked the hotel.

We shall definitely look into your comment and make the wifi alright.

We have also taken steps to improve the hospitality, cleanliness and amenities.

Please consider visiting us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elysian Fields, TX
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I feel like I live in Holidays Inns. This one stands out simply due to the staff. Could they be any nicer?? I was stunned that one actually said Hi and Welcome back! She was not the one checking me in and I do believe she remembered me!
Anyway, that aside, it is a nice place. The location is great because you can get to near anywhere in L.C. very quickly.
Rooms are very nice, typical of HIEX.
Very attractive lobby!
Stay here and I can not imagine why you would not be pleased. This one is becoming my "go to" place very fast when I work in L.C.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Hotel wouldn't let us check in an hour early. Really, you need the hour to just clean the room? When we came back of course there was a line because they adhere strictly to the 3 pm check in.

Bathroom was moldy. I understand it's Louisiana and humid but think mold can be cleaned off shower walls.

Was close to Coushatta casino.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Sindy022,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South

Address: 2940 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites is the newest Full Service, upscale hotel in Lake Charles, LA. Location, Location, Location. The Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles is in the heart of Southwest Louisiana. Business travelers will quickly realize the benefit of our location. We are near all Lake Charles , Westlake and Sulphur industries, which include Conoco Phillips, Citgo, PPG and Westlake PetroChemicals. We are the closest full service hotel to the Airport, Mcneese State University, historic downtown and Port of Lake Charles. Just moments from our front door our leisure guests will find attractions such as 5 Star Resort and Casino, Lauberge Du Lac and Sugar Cane Bay. If shopping is on your agenda, the Prien Lake Mall and many great restaurants are only a short drive away. Host your meeting or celebrate a special occasion in our state of the art meeting and banquet facility which seats up to 175 people. Our professional planning staff and outstanding catering service is sure to meet your needs. In addition to our contemporary, state of the art guest rooms our Lake Charles Holiday Inn and Suites features a business center, fitness center, indoor pool and whirlpool. Our food and beverage facility is anchored by Kem s Café bar and grill featuring outstanding American fare and your favorite spirits. Enjoy, relax and experience the serenity of the Holiday Inn and Suites, Lake Charles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Lake Charles South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lake Charles South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.