We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth the trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pat's of Henderson

Pat's of Henderson
1500 Siebarth Dr, Lake Charles, LA 70615-6886
337-439-6618
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 223 Restaurants in Lake Charles
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Galveston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“worth the trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I find myself getting off the Interstate evrytime I go to New Orleans to eat at this staple by the swamp. Entrees are big enough to share and you can give your leftovers to the alligators!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    31
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, LA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oldie but goodie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Visited October 22, 2012 for lunch. I have not visited here in many years. Restaurant is old, but still a gem. I had a shrimp salad, which was great. Wait staff very helpful and ready for assistance. Catfish bites for appetizer were delicious. Everything about the restaurant was fabulous. Will visit again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food in Lake Charles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

More upscale than the original Pat's in Henderson, LA, but still features the authentic Cajun food that originated at the Henderson restaurant. We try to include a stop here whenever we are traveling between home in Louisiana and Texas. They have some great choices for lunch. Favorites are the blackened or grilled fish and the onion rings are done just right.

You can actually eat cooked to order, authentic south Louisiana seafood for lunch here at a price comparable to a casual chain or cafeteria if you don't include alcoholic bevarages.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Catfish Ooo-wee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I ate in the banquet room, so I had a limited selection for a party. I had one small crabcake. Others around ordered fried catfish and fried shrimp. I skipped on the crabcake; did't like the taste. The catfist and shrimp were perfectly seasoned. They tasted great with their butter rolls.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Prices too high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have stopped here for lunch many times going between Texas and Louisiana. This trip it took
45 minutes to receive our orders of red beans and sausage. Price was $ 10.95 a bowl and there were not but a fewer lower priced single items on the menu. It was 11:45 AM when we arrived on a Friday. There were only six tables with people and service was very slow. This is a very large restaurant that probably has over 100 tables. I even asked the server where our order was and she didn't know. There are many restaurants within the overall area off I 10 and we will be finding other places to stop. By the way I can not say these Red Beans would be rated more than 5 on a scale of ten. Be for warned about the prices. There does not appear to be a lunch menu like many restaurants have.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pat's of Henderson also viewed

 
Lake Charles, LA
 

Been to Pat's of Henderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pat's of Henderson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.