We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, clean rooms, safe area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1016 N Martin Luther King Hwy, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value, clean rooms, safe area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The staff was friendly. Rooms are clean. There is a small pool, it was clean. The wifi was not good. It would connect and disconnect constantly. it may have been because we were on he 3rd floor all the way to the back. Beds are firm. Price was decent. We paid about $100 per night after all the taxes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are always looking for review and feedback from our guest to better improve our standards. Please come back in a few months and take advantage of our new bedding program and Market Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    13
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
16
9
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I always stay here when I visit Lake Charles for work, because I know I will be happy here. My number one concern for a hotel is cleanliness and I've never had a problem here. It's always nice and comfy. This is a top notch hotel. They even have a bar, which is a great addition if you don't want to leave the property.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel. It is great to share our reviews with our staff so they know how wonderful they are doing. We understand the importance of cleanliness and we never slack off in this area. Since you take advantage of our Bar & Lounge, I would be happy to offer you a free drink upon your return. Just mention this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pineville, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

First off, this Comfort Inn Suites is located in a strange place. It sits behind a gas station, you have to really watch for it or you will not see it! That aside the hotel itself is newer and is very clean. Room was roomy, clean and had comfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast was the usual hotel fare, biscuits and gravy, eggs, waffles and an assortment of muffins and bagals and such. The staff that I had contact with were all pleasant. You should note that while this hotel does have a pool it seems to be a very small pool and pool area. If you happen to visit while several ball teams are visiting, as I did, then don't expect to have a relaxing pool experience. Overall a nice stay. It was convenient to the interstate and several eating joints within reasonable distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property! I call our location the Best Kept Secret of Lake Charles! Being set back from the road allows minimal road noise for our guests. I am pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay and I hope you will stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Brandy Johnson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wonderful place to stay while traveling for work. The staff is courteous and helpful. We stay there all the time when working in Lake Charles. Plenty of good resturants just down the road on Hwy 171. Great little hotel bar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Good Afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from our property. We take pride in ensuring our guests feel welcome and appreciated and my staff will be pleased to hear we are doing a Great Job! We look forward to hosting you on your next trip through Lake Charles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our rooms were not available when we arrived between 5-6 p.m. so they gave us a 10% discount coupon to a local restaurant. Our room was large with a wall between the sitting area and the bed. Because of this wall and the placement of the TV, not everyone sitting on the couch could see the TV. The breakfast room had a good layout making it easy to access everything. Breakfast was good with the normal variety of items. The staff was very friendly both during check-in and check-out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I do apologize for the delay in room availability as we should always have our rooms ready by 3pm, however there may be situations that prevent 100% of our rooms from being ready on time during busy Baseball Season (May). I am pleased to hear my Staff was able to offer you a discount for a local restaurant. We are working on adding additional TV's to our Suites to provide everyone in the room visibility. I look forward to the opportunity to host you again for your Lake Charles needs.

Regards,
Brandy Johnson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The staff is very nice and helpful. If you ask them what there is to do, they are able to tell you things in the area and have maps readily available for you. The rooms are large and clean. The beds are GREAT. I will stay with this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review of our property! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon. We are constantly looking for new and exciting ways to further improve our standards and service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Calm
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Beds are a bit hard and old furniture but the morning staff is great. Location right off the interstate makes for an easy return to your trip. The lady running the breakfast bar was outstanding. They had two bus loads of kids their and she managed to keep up, with keeping plenty of food out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy J, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. I do apologize you did not find comfort in our beds, as we have pillow top mattresses and fluffy pillows. Our furniture is in the process of being replaced as we speak! I am pleased you enjoyed our breakfast and my attendant will be happy to hear you commended her work.

Regards,
Brandy Johnson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1016 N Martin Luther King Hwy, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Lake Charles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.