We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappoints!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pamplona Tapas Bar & Grill

Pamplona Tapas Bar & Grill
631 Jefferson St, Lafayette, LA 70501
+1 337-232-0070
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pamplona Tapas Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 473 Restaurants in Lafayette
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Main
Transit: We are a short walk from the Rosa Parks Transportation Center in downtown Lafayette, which has both Rail and Bus services available.
Description: Hemingway, bullfighting, and flamenco married with superior Spanish wines and luscious small bites fashion a sophisticated culinary oasis in Downtown Lafayette. By marrying chic urban elegance with rustic Spanish simplicity, Pamplona transports flavors from traditional Spain fused with international tastes, such as those from France, Italy, and North Africa.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although the cuisine is pleasing, our favorite part is the bar. Experienced mixologists are experts in the classics yet create something new for the more adventurous. Love the Viceroy and the featured Martini. Tapas are pricey, so have them at the bar with a cocktail. Skip the tapas menu and go for the entrees if you're having dinner. Patrons love the duck fat fries!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    15
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best on Jefferson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is my second visit to Pamplona and I sit at the bar where James holds forth. Though showy, he's very knowlegable and likes to wine and dine you according to your food and wine tastes, rather than just waiting for you to ask for something. The shrimp ceviche was good enough but the roasted oysters were delightful. I'll be back every time I"m in Lafayette.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eunice, Louisiana
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great taste and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We decided to go to Pamplona's on a Saturday Nite. We had appetisers and shared a pork dish for 4. The wine was great and they allowed us to sample a few before deciding which was rare and nice. The pork was excellent and a great value since we shared a dish. We all shared the dish and we were all full. The appetisers were good but too little; bacon wrapped dates they only gave two (kind of cheap) and the same with the duck but the roasted osters were great and you had plenty with a half dozen. When they brought the bill I thought it was a mistake because we had ordered 3 appetisers and bottle of wine, a cocktail and a couple of glasses of wine plus the main course and it was only about $ 40 per person; an great value. If I had to have a complaint it was very noisy with the bar being right next to our table and not enough fabric to absorb the sounds.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“way too expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

little food for an exorbitant amount of $$ very easy to spend $100 per person and leave hungry there were two of us and we both went home and ate again

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, LA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Wine Selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The tapas are not bad either, their lunch menu changes every single day which makes it unique every single time, and you can never go wrong.
Excelent for dinner parties, as well as just a quick bite before going out to party.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamplona Tapas Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pamplona Tapas Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pamplona Tapas Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.