We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely furnished, convenient, good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Lafayette North

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Lafayette North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Lafayette North
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Northeast Evangeline Thruway, Lafayette, LA 70501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 45 hotels in Lafayette
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nicely furnished, convenient, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nicely refurnished motel, from cheerful contemporary colors & comforters, to photographs of agaves for the artwork - cudos to the La Quinta design team. The breakfast included bananas, apples, yogurt (lite & reg), instant hot (without the sugar, hurray) & cold cereal, bagels, cream cheese, hard boiled eggs, & d-i-y waffle mix. Our room was in the back & very quiet. Just 2 min.s up the street from the Lafayette Visitor Center. All in all good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    34
    41
    32
    17
See reviews for
54
35
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The first time I stayed here I was quite pleased with the value for my money. The room now was not clean enough for me and I have modest standards. The room was over-priced. What is going for the place is location and staff.

Toilet wabbled when sat upon, tub needs resurfacing and removal of those nasty sticky things. Hated to bathe the child in tub so tried to sterilize it first with hot water.

Room Tip: If you can get the room for under $50 take it but I will be trying another hotel nearby to see if I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porter, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The good points: we purchased this room online at a fantastic price using Travelocity’s “Secret Hotel” feature ($38 a night before taxes!). The staff was friendly and the location near I-10 was easily accessible and perfect for our traveling purposes. The HD satellite television system was exceptional with a really ingenious screen saver that played ocean beach video and sound effects. We actually left the TV’s screen saver on at night and slept very peacefully listening to the roar of the virtual digital ocean. The room had a microwave oven and a mini-refrigerator. The free wireless internet connection worked very well.

----------

The not-so-good points: the bathroom was filthy by anyone’s definition. The sheets and towels were close to being almost threadbare in our opinion. We thought the entire room was in great need of dusting and general cleaning. The interior of the microwave oven was obviously dirty and splattered with someone’s previous meal.

The worst thing we found in our room was the bathtub’s shower mat: it was encrusted on top and bottom with a mix of soap scum, mold, and general nastiness. The shower mat was so filthy, it was honestly impossible to completely peel it away from the bathtub’s surface – please see the attached photo. There was a pile of debris (maybe dead insects?) accumulated in the floor corner near the bathtub. My wife was afraid to take a shower out of fear of possible fungal foot infection, or worse, and I did not blame her for skipping her nightly shower.

The nearest ice machine to our room was broke. The next nearest ice machine had an alarmingly unsanitary appearance.

(I am attaching photos of the bathroom, bathtub, and the ice machine.)

----------

Despite the few good points, we cannot tolerate filthy housekeeping and will not return. It was sad to see the once prestigious La Quinta high standard of quality sink to this level.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at this La Quinta during our grand children's spring break and found it to be very reasonably priced, clean and considering how large of a hotel it is very quiet. The breakfast was good: waffles, cereals, juices, fruit, boiled eggs, muffins and bagels/toast. The staff was friendly and courteous - check in and check out was a breeze - everything we'd requested was correct.
Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: They have a lot of workers (construction type) who stay there and are very considerate as to putting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We picked the LaQuinta because it was on our route late night, and we'd gotten a rate for about $50 on the net. We arrived after midnight, and it was completely full! Crowded, crowded place. The rooms had been updated but not what I expected from LaQuinta... but it is an old motor in. We were actually pleasantly surprised by the beds. The mattresses had pillow-tops and the were very comfortable. The area is a little shady. I would definitely not stay here over 1 night on a stopover, and I will probably look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This place was average at best. The room was clean enough and seemed somewhat recently renovated/updated. However, the internet wouldn't connect, and when we went to ask the front desk woman to fix it, she told us the router was in a guest room, and she'd try to have the guest restart the router if they were in. What????? We went to eat at the Waffle House next door - the ONLY open restaurant at 8pm on a Wednesday night (on a strip of highway that had SEVEN hotels) and it was literally the worst experience we have ever had in any sort of "restaurant." DON'T GO TO THE WAFFLE HOUSE! If you have to, call and order for pick up. At least when we got back to our room the internet was working...

Room Tip: Seriously, stay away from the Waffle House! Get a room where you can see your car - it's a weird...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The bed was comfortable, the staff was very nice. The breakfast was very nice, more than adaquate.
The weak link was the condition of the room. Listed as "non smoking" , it had not been properly cleaned to earn that designation. Cleaning alone will never get the smoke smell out of carpet and drapes. There is not enough carpet shampoo to do that job. The carpet and drapes need to be replaced. As a former smoker, I know what has to be done to rehab a room. The night we were there was almost like sleeping in an ashtray.
If they properly rehab their former smoking rooms, I would try them again because of all the positives that they do.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salomon_Mena, Manager at La Quinta Inn Lafayette North, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I'd like to apologize for the quality of the room. We do use an electronic air freshener to rid the smoke smell from the room. I again apologize for the room. If you're ever back here let me know and I will make sure your next stay is completely satisfactory!

Thany you!

Zane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Lafayette North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Lafayette North

Address: 2100 Northeast Evangeline Thruway, Lafayette, LA 70501
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Lafayette North 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Lafayette North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Lafayette Hotel Lafayette
Lafayette La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Lafayette North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.