We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Curry!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masala Indian Kitchen

Masala Indian Kitchen
2208 Kaliste Saloom Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508
+1 337-981-6858
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 473 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Private Dining
louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Curry!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

A truly authentic Indian food experience always consistently good. Great curry and tandoori....love the papad cups!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    13
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Duson, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

even my rice and gravy loving husband enjoyed the food!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Chana Masala Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

If you wish to have a light spicy Indian meatless dish, this is the one. The bar is a quiet sanctuary where you can sit, even alone. View the nice big screen TV for the LSU game and finish with a glass of Malbec. Perfect evening!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food but be prepared to bus tables”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

As a vegetarian in Louisiana, I was happy to find a restaurant with lots of options. The menu has a whole section of vegetarian Indian dishes, and I ordered an appetizer (pakoras, which were spicy and delicious) and an entree (khadai paneer, which was tasty). Just as we finished ordering, our friendly server asked us to confirm what we just said because he hadn't written anything down and had already forgotten. My boyfriend ordered a salad and shrimp biryani. We had to ask a couple times to get glasses of water. When our entrees arrived, my boyfriend was served chicken biryani but was so hungry he just ate it. The whole time we were there, there were about three other occupied tables. While the other server was giving some other diners their wrapped up leftovers, he dropped a container or two on the floor, spilling food right behind another occupied table and near ours. He came back a few minutes later with desserts for the first table and then walked away. He came back again to chat with the diners and my boyfriend had had enough of the food and trash on the floor, so he got up and brought it to the kitchen, as the server stood there, looking confused. We waited and waited for our server and my boyfriend almost went back to the kitchen again to find him so we could get our check. All in all, we enjoyed the food we were served but were really disappointed with the service.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Ridge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“delicious Indian food in a clean, attractive setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

When we travel we often look for Indian restaurants because unfortunately we haven't been able to find one we like very much where we live (in New Orleans). So when we read other positive reviews for Masala on this site we decided to give it a try. Everything coming from the kitchen looked and smelled mouth-watering (the tandoori dishes come out sizzling)! We were very happy with our entrees. I ordered a perfectly seasoned (vegetarian) eggplant dish and my husband ordered a chicken and spinach dish. Both entrees were served with the most delicious rice and we ordered naan (indian grilled bread), which was also really yummy. The next time we are in Lafayette we will return!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala Indian Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Masala Indian Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala Indian Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.