We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise and very reasonable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carriage House Hotel to your Saves list
Carriage House Hotel
603 Silverstone Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508 (Formerly Carriage House Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise and very reasonable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Hotel was in a great location in Lafayette and was followed by all the amenities; grocery stores, restaurants, gyms, etc. It is in a residential community which didn't bother our trip and it was actually nice not to have the hustle and bustle of all the common hotel traffic and out of towners. Room was impeccable and great AC's in the room. Will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    3
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
3
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

I was happy to find this hotel as an alternative to the standard brand chains that litter Lafayette. That said, we left confused. Someone is phoning this hotel in. Check in was easy and the gentleman at the front desk was lovely. We also appreciated the location and size of the room. Beyond that, everything is touch and go... For example, housekeeping never came! I would not have cared except that at $159 a night, 1) they should come and 2) we ran out of towels and, most importantly, coffee! Also, they tout access to The City Club and, in fact, that's why we stayed here. But, and you would expect a but, the guest services directory says the pool opens at 8 a.m. Well, it actually opens at 10 a.m.! Don't trudge over to The City Club ready to swim at 8 a.m. with your little ones all suited up and ready to go unless you yourself call first to confirm the hours. It just seems so amateur to use your marketing materials as an attempt to convey such a luxury experience but then not make an effort to update your guest services materials. Strange. We are left very torn! I'd love to stay here again and again but I'm afraid if the experience doesn't improve they might not be around. That would be pretty sad since there is so much potential. Oh, and the walls are so very thin. We could hear everyone come and go, particularly one very loud party at 1 a.m.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

The hotel was in a great location for shops and restaurants, and gave us access to the City Club Health Club. The One bedroom suite had microwave, mini fridge, sitting area and then bedroom and bathroom. Beds were comfortable, the shower was a challenge to figure out, the staff was overly helpful...overall a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoup
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

What an odd experience....first I had a devil of a time figuring out where the hotel was and then how to find the front desk. It is really an apartment complex located in an upscaled planned community that is super nice and convenient. It is on one of the squares that has a really great restaurant, super health club(you can use it if you stay at the hotel) named City Club, a wine bar, spa, hair salon and men's clothing store all within walking distance. But the rub comes just trying to get your, get to your room, and then finding someone if you need anything. The rooms aren't just rooms, they are either one bedroom or two bedroom apartments that are furnished. They are contemporary in style, well furnished, and nice beds and bedding. Much more than you need for a few nights stay. Once I found the "front desk" through a hidden passage way, into a beautiful courtyard, then I found where to check in. There is no bellman or anything like that...just one person to check you in and then see you to your room. You have to take your bags thru a maze of stairways, hallways and more connecting hallways to your final destination. There is no common area for brunch or breakfast, and you are pretty much on your own once you get to your suite, which is very nice but starting to see some wear, with stained carpeting, scratches on the doors, and windows that needed cleaning. So, if you like apartment living instead of a four star hotel experience then this is the place. All the shops and restaurants around it are great and the one staff member I saw was very nice. PS. I didn't think there was maid service but she did finally come about 2pm. The first night I was missing the top sheet and told her about it and she said that they ran out of sheets? and had to order some more so they were short. She did make my bed up properly. It's a pretty good place if you can find it......

Room Tip: Your shopping in River Ranch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Upon scheduling my trip to Lafayette for business purposes, I was disappointed about the quality of lodging that the city had to offer based on our search of what was available in the area. It was only later that I found out about the Carriage House suites by word of mouth that we decided to book a room. The staff was extremely personable and accommodating, and the room was far superior in fit, finish, location, and price compared to our similar room of similar size at the Hilton. You will not find another hotel in the area with such amenities as a fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, and high-end materials (my wife particularly loved the marble bath). The location was also fantastic, in the center of the most exclusive part of town. This hotel is Lafayette’s best-kept secret, and I would (and have) recommended to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

I stayed here with clients and colleagues for four weeks in Jan/Feb of 2011. The property is first rate... the rooms/bed extremetly comfortable. The exercise facility is top rate. The service provided by the staff, from the manager/front office/staff was excellent. We will certainly stay here again...and look forward to doing that soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
70126
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

This hotel advertises itself as a "luxury hotel" in Lafayette. Perhaps, at one time, it was.

Now, it's spectacularly awful.

Check-in was very convoluted as there were no clear directions as to where to park and it was necessary to walk through the parking garage and through a courtyard to the "front desk office." After check-in, it was necessary to drive up the ramp of the parking garage to the level on which the room was located where I was met by the front desk clerk who led me to the room.

No doubt, at one time the room was very nice. Now, however, the room featured a kitchenette with DIRTY LIPSTICK STAINED glasses (not a single one was clean). The bathroom featured holes in the walls where towel bars once were attached. The shower featured a four jet shower device with only one jet working. The bedroom featured scarred and nicked walls with a bed made of stained sheets. The hallway between the living room featured a beautifully dust covered wall.

Luxury? No way!

And the response from the staff was, generally, uncaring.

I would never stay there again and you shouldn't even try!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Hotel

Address: 603 Silverstone Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508 (Formerly Carriage House Suites)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House Hotel offers twenty-one boutique hotel suites and six boutique extended stay condominiums with vibrant colors, custom furnishings, spa bathrooms and boutique amenities. Edgy décor is tempered with elements of residential accents. Comfort and style are balanced, and personal service and attention to detail are offered in this comtemporary environment. The Carriage House Hotel provides the services and amenities of a boutique hotel within a stylish and intimate environment. Our superb location is within minutes of the major business and pleasure destinations in Acadiana. At our doorstep are restaurants, spas and shops.Guests enjoy a serene setting within which they can live, work and play. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Carriage House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.