We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, great atmosphere and GREAT food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dog Cafe

Blue Dog Cafe
1211 W Pinhook Rd, Lafayette, LA 70503-2604
337-237-0005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 474 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great people, great atmosphere and GREAT food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I ate here tonight at the recommendation of my hotel front desk, and I was NOT dissappointed! I ate the seafood gumbo, followed by the flounder. It was all wonderful! I ate at the bar, and the bartender Kelly C was very pleasant and helpful and great conversation. I sat next to a very nice Irish/Cajun gentleman who was obviously a regular, and he was alot of fun. I wish I lived here and could try the Sunday brunch, but I guess I'll just "settle" for week night dinners when I'm travelling in town. I loved it...Thank You, Blue Dog!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    150
    53
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breaux Bridge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Had a good time at the Blue Dog. We reserved a table near the band on a Saturday night & after arriving a little late it was still waiting. The waiter let us take our time with ordering which was nice. Everything we ordered was very good!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excelent food and Dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

If you want to experience south louisiana food prepared in different creative ways, this place is a must

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

About 14 of us went there for a business dinner and it was good from start to finish. The decor of the restaurant is very good with the Blue Dog theme. From the moment we walked in we were treated very well and seated quickly. We had a number of appitizers all of which were good. I had the Crab Florintine and it too was good. This place will be great for a date, your family, business or if your by yourself. It's easy to find, right in the middle of town. I don't think you can go wrong here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Get the Enchilada's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

5 times in a row this place has been very satisfying. great character, excellent food, good drink. ENJOY!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.