We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Dog Cafe

Blue Dog Cafe
1211 W Pinhook Rd, Lafayette, LA 70503-2604
337-237-0005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 473 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had Blue Dog Cafe's brunch this past Sunday and could not have been more satisfied. There are so many choices and between us we tried almost every dish. Everything was cooked to perfection. Standouts for me included corn & crab bisque, dirty rice, smoked salmon, and chocolate cake. We arrived about 5 minutes before opening and got in line just in time. By the time we finished our first plates, there was a wait. Service was excellent. We will be back next time we are in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    150
    53
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Falls, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A quick taste deserves a second”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were on the Cajun Food Tour and our first stop was at Blue Dog Café. Though we were there for a quick taste, we enjoyed the restaurant's noted corn and crab bisque. Delicious. We will be heading back to Blue Dog Café for more.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my third time to Blue Dog, but my first for lunch. The lunch menu looked good, but I wanted Ettouffee, so I ordered off the regular menu, and I wasn't disappointed. It was as good as I remembered. The garlic bread with honey butter is excellent, such an interesting blend of flavors. We got there very early, just after 11:00, and by the time we left, they were getting crowded, so I'd say go early.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“sunday brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have always liked the Blue Dog for dinner, however Sunday brunch was just an average experience. There are many options, but none are outstanding. The feel is mass produced but the service is good. There is nothing special at brunch that gives the Blue Dog an edge. I'll go back, as always, for their regular dinner menu.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Enjoyed our dinner at the Blue Dog Café. Our food was very good. There was a live band playing and we enjoyed the atmosphere. There were folks who were dressed very casually and some who were dressed up. Staff were all friendly. We'll be back next time we're in Lafayette!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Dog Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.