We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruffino's on the River

Ruffino's on the River
921 Camellia Blvd, Lafayette, LA
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruffino's on the River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #97 of 465 restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Anniversary dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

They made our 20th Anniversary so special. Delicious dinner plus a complimentary surprise champagne/dessert. Would've given it 5 stars but it is extremely loud for such a fine dining experience. Great place

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

48% Recommend
    11
    4
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ponchatoula, Louisiana
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Incredible!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Just ate at ruffino's on the river. It was so incredible I had to immediately trip advisor. The food, service, and atmosphere cannot be beat!
I had the flounder special which melted in my mouth. The other two in the group had veal Parmesan and lasagna both just as good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The service is impeccable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Well, what a place! Beautiful view of the Vermilion and outstanding service! The food is a work of art! We started with appetizers of seafood arancine and wood oven roasted oysters. Everyone loved them! Next, we all had the sensation salad, which was fresh and very good but a little lacking in flavor - seasoning with spice and herbs, to be perfectly honest. Then, for my entrée, I had the cedar plank baked redfish and it was incredible! Beautifully presented and delicious and fresh tasting! The rest of my group had the barbecue shrimp fettucine, the pork tchoupitoulas, and the bisque. Everyone was extremely pleased. What fun to be served pink cotton candy after dinner! However, we ALSO had dessert - vanilla creme brulée and a white chocolate brownie concotion that was very popular!
The service was superb. Waiters, servers, and staff surrounded the table as our food was delivered to where everyone was served silmutaneously. Nice!
Recommended? Yes, indeed, but do expect to pay for the fine service and food.
Sometimes it is so nice to be treated like a queen, or king!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“waiting for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We jumped on the bandwagon & decided to give this very busy restaurant a try. Nice inside although we didn't have a river view. Despite the hype found the food lacking. Ordered one of their signature dishes on a cedar plank. & the fish was way overcooked. Only one of our group was satisfied & they ordered simple pasta. For the price I certainly expected more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonijr
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This brand new restaurant is all we hoped it would be...Great food, service, ambiance.....friendly, happy, helpful staff....
The pina colada cotton candy dessert was a crazy surprise and the crab cheesecake appetizer was too good for words....Can't wait to return and we live four hours away....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruffino's on the River also viewed

 

Been to Ruffino's on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruffino's on the River, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.