We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior dining experience in Lafayette” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charley G's Seafood Grill

Charley G's Seafood Grill
3809 Ambassador Caffery Pkwy, Lafayette, LA 70503-5275
(337) 981-0108
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Charley G's Seafood Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 474 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Superior dining experience in Lafayette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had lunch at Charley G's based on Trip Advisors rating. Although the restaurant is very well appointed and the service was excellent, I don't think the food lived up to a number 1 status in the city.
I started off with the escargot and was surprised that I received 12 of these little delicious snails. However, they were small and not served in their shells. Although they tasted okay they also tasted as if they had been prepared much earlier and placed in their pan in the refrigerator; a little on the tough side.
I also had another appetizer that was a large crab cake. This was very good and filling. My server was correct in that the crab cake was not the usual solid crab cake but one that was a little creamy, but was delicious nonetheless. The accompanied French bread was also very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    18
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
baton rouge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Went to lunch on a Friday during a weekend trip from Baton Rouge. What a wonderful surprise! The place is very pretty and cozy inside. The staff was super friendly. Our waiter, Tigre, was fantastic. He helped guide our choices. We started with the smoked duck and tasso spring rolls. As Tigre said, they were light, not heavy and a perfect beginning. My husband ordered the Friday special, Louisiana crawfish half and half. He said it was the best crawfish he has had in 5 years. I had the bluesiana salad and added the hanger steak. Oh my, I have to say, it was the best salad I have ever had! The lettuce was super fresh, the plate was beautifully arranged, and you could cut the flavorful steak with a fork. We will definitely drive over an hour just to eat here. Way to go, Charley G's!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broussard, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simply great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Any dinner here is excellent but last Saturday was simply wonderful. We eat here often and my suggestion is plan on ordering the special. It is almost always great fish with Chef Holly's special touch, usually served with asparagus and a tasty starch. If the special is triple tail don't miss it, same for flounder. The flatbread is a hit and the gumbo is the best ever -- better than any in New Orleans, and that is high praise. The wine list is good and not pretentious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunkport, Maine
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Charley G's is a great place to go with a group of friends. It's very crowded and a little noisy. Don't sit in the bar area on the weekends unless you want to shout at your friends... it's very noisy. The menu is very diverse. Try the Smoked Duck & Tasso Spring Rolls with zydeco pepper jelly, they are so good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charley G's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Food is excellent. We have visited this restaurant on numerous trips to Lafayette. The only negative it that the best service seems to be reserved for those customers who are known to the management. I always feel like a second-rate customer when there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charley G's Seafood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Charley G's Seafood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charley G's Seafood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.