We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like loud music and interesting accommodations, this may be for you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Guest House

Save Saved
You added Blue Moon Guest House to your Saves list
Blue Moon Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Moon Guest House
215 East Convent St., Lafayette, LA   |  
Hotel amenities
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“If you like loud music and interesting accommodations, this may be for you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This place is not for everyone! We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay. We had to change rooms as they didn't have one for 2 consecutive nights. That was no trouble. Both rooms were fine. We preferred the one upstairs. This place is part hostel, part private rooms connected to a Saloon with live music most days. Do not expect fancy accomodations and bring ear plugs if you are an early sleeper. They actually had some ear plugs at the front desk but I wouldn't count on it. There are no TVs in the rooms. WIFI is there but not very dependable. There is a common kitchen available. Arrive in the morning, or after 5 pm as the office is not open all day. Highly recommend for adventurous souls who love music.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    10
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We didn't actually stay here. We will consider it next time we are in Lafayette. We went to the back porch and listened to two bands on a Saturday night. Service at the bar was friendly and efficient. This is a good thing considering we are older and in many places in college towns, older people are ignored. For such a small place, the acoustics are fantastic. I guess a lot has to do with the sound engineer. Our nephew recommended this place and we are glad he did. We'll be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you're looking for something a bit different, this place is great. It's about as far from a chain motel as you're likely to find in the States - lovely period rooms and furniture, great communal spaces, nice friendly vibe and the Cajun Jam on Wednesday nights is wonderful. Not too far from town either - about a 10-15 minute walk. Also definitely worth checking out the fantastic Borden's ice cream place opposite.

A

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The space inside at the Blue Moon is very comfortable and it's in a great location in the middle of town. There are clothes cleaning facilities and a fully loaded kitchen. Out the back you have a great bar and music venue - one night we had a Cajun Jam, and when you meet up with the locals and other visitors this becomes a fantastic spot. Great staff, all very friendly. This is the place to be when you come to Lafayette.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Live music and the fact that it wasn’t a chain motel were the two drawcards for us. The live music didn’t disappoint; it is reason enough to stay here, and a great opportunity to meet some friendly Lafayette locals. We spent four nights in the Birds Nest, a very comfortable private room, spotlessly clean, good value for money and perfect for a couple. Other reviewers’ assessments of the Blue Moon being more of a hostel than a hotel are right on the money. A number of people staying there were regulars, which is a good indication of a reliable experience, with the problem being that you can often be made feel as though you are on the outside of a clique. That was certainly the case with some of the staff, one or two of whom made us feel as though paying guests were preventing them from hanging out with their buddies. By contrast, I should mention a staff member named Hannah, who struck the perfect balance between hospitality and efficiency. After a few days we got to know some of the regular guests, and had a great experience. Of the four nights we stayed there, the last two were so great that we would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toody703
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here and would probably stay there again. It is a guest house and saloon which is what makes this such an unusual stay. If you stay on nights that there is a band your cover charge is included in your room price. At the time of our stay, there were 4 rooms ranging in price from around $70-$90 each with it's own attractions and distractions :). Here's what I mean by that. We took a look at all the rooms except the "Bird's Nest" and all are of average appointments (more like a hostile than B&B). Only the "Balcony" (the most expensive and also where we stayed) has it's own private bathroom with shower. It's named the Balcony because it's on the second floor (no elevators) and has a small terrace from which you can also hear the bands on concert nights.
It is located in a neighborhood in downtown Lafayette just off of Johnston St. and at first glance gave us pause about staying, but we were glad we did.
The staff is VERY friendly and helpful.
The parking isn't great, as a matter of fact, there isn't a parking lot at all. You park on the street, but there aren't meters.
There is a Borden's Ice Cream Parlor across the street. It says its circa the 40's and has some memorabilia from that era and was probably run since that time frame, but the building itself seems to be new.

Room Tip: We suggest the Balcony for the reasons I stated above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motta Sant'Anastasia, Italy
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We picked this place because the saloon (that is the back yard of this old house) had good music which it did. The placement our needs but is really more like a hostle than hotel. We had our own room with a private bath but no ammenities come with the room - no soaps shampoos room cleaning etc. the room had air a bed and a futon. Basic. I did fell for the price they could do more and it is time to update the furnitures - out room was big enought for a larger bed. All that said the location people we meet and saloon in the back yard made up for all the rest. Would highly recommend
If you want to be part of the music scene in Lafayette.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Moon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Guest House

Address: 215 East Convent St., Lafayette, LA
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty lodging in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Saloon & Guest House is located in the heart of Lafayette, Louisiana. Both cozy old home and rowdy music venue, the Blue Moon is a destination for any traveler. The guest house features hostel style rooms and private rooms with shared kitchen and living space. The saloon is open with live music Wednesday thru Saturday and sometimes on Sunday, all guests of the house receive free entry to the saloon and your first beer is on us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Blue Moon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Guest House Hotel Lafayette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Moon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.