We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The coffee here saved us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carpe Diem! Gelato-Espresso Bar

Carpe Diem! Gelato-Espresso Bar
780 Jefferson St, Lafayette, LA
13375344155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 474 Restaurants in Lafayette
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Dessert
Restaurant details
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The coffee here saved us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My partner is a self-declared coffee snob, so arriving here from Texas after a week on the road was like arriving at the Emerald City. The service was great, the staff were helpful with advice about things to do locally, and the barista was truly committed to his craft. We thoroughly recommend this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

When your downtown don't miss out on this great little coffee shop. The gelato is superb and they have many flavors to choose from. I love the hazelnut. Starts at $3.60 a cup. Also delightful pastries to please the palate.(Cannoli,etc) Small place. Seating is limited to a few tables inside (5 I think) plus some outdoor seating (2-3 tables maybe).WiFi. Across from the old City Hall building and statue. Parking is on the street and metered between 9 and 5. Closed on Monday.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good coffee and snacks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This little coffee shop in central Lafayette does surprisingly good coffee. There is wifi and the staff are pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very tasty gelato!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed this place. It's always crowded when we go but I can see why. Service is mediocre....it's hit or miss and sometimes they aren't friendly especially when we ask questions about the gelato, but we go for the dessert not service anyhow. Overall awesome place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good but could be much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Tasty and very good location which brings life to the old downtown area. After having had gelato in several Italian cities and other parts of Europe this place is good but still has some work to do.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carpe Diem! Gelato-Espresso Bar also viewed

 

Been to Carpe Diem! Gelato-Espresso Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carpe Diem! Gelato-Espresso Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.