We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Lafayette

Red Roof Inn Lafayette
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Lafayette to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Lafayette
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1718 North University Avenue, Lafayette, LA 70507   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lafayette
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The night before this we stayed at the same motel in a different town and it was fine.This was dirty, ,chairs were broken, mold in the bathroom. We arrived at 2:30 In afternoon and asked for a ground floor room and were told that none was available. Please, at 2:30 in the afternoon.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ligonier
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on business several years ago and were pleased, so when we passed through here again we jumped at the chance to stay again. We were greeted by a pretty gal at the front desk who was not very heavy in the friendly Dept. We paid extra for the "Superior King" room so that we would be guaranteed a fridge/microwave and they have a nice desk in them and we were staying for 3 nights so planned on getting some paperwork done. Asked at the front desk if they had good internet and they said yes. When we got in to the room we were unable to maintain an internet connection, so I called the number on the back of the binder in the room. They told me that they had not provided internet for this location in quite some time. I called the front desk and they said that there was really not anything else that could be done. Went to put things in the fridge and it was not working. Found that it had been unplugged. Plugged it in and could not hear it run, but figured it may take a minute. Went to surf the channels on the TV and found that the channel guide was not up to date either. Frustrated. Forgot about the fridge until 4 am when I woke up to a bit of smoke in the room and the STRONG smell of something electrical burning. Immediately unplugged the fridge. There was a ton of heat coming from it. I opened it up and it was literally like an oven in there. I went up in the morning and reported it and asked for a new one and was told that the Maint. man didn't show up that day so they couldn't get me one. Told her that I would gladly grab one from another room and she said we couldn't. As if that were not frustrating enough, the owner obviously employs his family to do the cleaning. They are All OF Middle Eastern Decent and speak NO English and appeared Dirty. Never did get the internet worked out. In this places defense on the net issue. This is a common problem with this chain. Getting better, but there are still locations like this who will not update.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms Superior king has a nice work area with desk. Flat screen with lots of stations to watch.Icebox microwave and safe in the room. The area is ok. You definitely get your money's worth. I would recommend it to family or friends.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

for the price it's a great place to stay but the housekeeping must be a little lazy. it looks like they clean the basic things you see and nothing else the refrigerator still had drinks from the person before me underneath the bed was disgusting the bathtub did not look clean if the room was clean I would give this hotel 5 stars

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this place to anyone unless you want people constantly asking you for money or trying to sell you drugs or women trying to get money for sex. Witnessed drug deals and prostitution happening in the parking lot

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stay at the Red Roof on a fairly routine basis, whether is business or pleasure. The staff makes the stay more memorable. I have never encountered an unpleasant member of the staff. Edna Lous has become a friend as well as a manager of the facility. I would like to take this time to share with everyone who visits Lafayette, Louisiana, staying at the Red Roof Inn will give you a clean room and staff that pay attention to the need of it's guest. Visit Mrs. Edna and the Red Roof.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lafayette, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Courtney,

Thank you for your review of our property. We really appreciate the positive comments and the kind words. Our staff work very hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and satisfied with their stay. I will also be sure to relay your commending words to Ms. Edna.

We look forward to your next visit to the Lafayette area, and want you to know that we truly value your business!

Best Regards,

Jay Kumar, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stay in Red Roofs on a fairly routine basis for long business trips, when looking for a basic and uniform room at a low price. On a rare trip with my family from Houston to New Orleans, we happened to stay one evening at this facility. It was embarrassing to have what quite clearly was a prostitution issue at an adjacent room. When I arrived for check-in, the woman behind the plexiglass enclosure (as another person alluded to, the area isn't exactly safe) said that they didn't have any rooms downstairs, which was an issue for my handicapped mother. Because of the ne'rdowells outside, we had to try to quietly bring all of the luggage up to the room. In general, I certainly hope Red Roofs stay in business, but would advise other travelers with options to avoid this facility. If one is looking to score drugs or prostitution in Lafayette, LA, this is apparently a facility where one can find it. Given the state of business, one would have to operate under the assumption that management is simply turning a blind eye for the sake of filling a respective room for an evening (roughly $50 per night).

Room Tip: Avoid this facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay K, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lafayette, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear GetsAround1977,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am sorry your stay was not satisfactory and we would like to apologize for any wrong behavior you may have witnessed. With a quick phone call to the front desk explaining your concerns, we could have quickly addressed and solved this inappropriate situation. Sometimes it is tough to keep trouble out of the facility; however, with the help of great guest like yourself, we are readily available to solve these troublesome worries so everyone can rest comfortably.

We hope that you give us another chance when you are in the Lafayette area, and want you to know that we truly value your business!

Best Regards,

Jay Kumar, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lafayette

Address: 1718 North University Avenue, Lafayette, LA 70507
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lafayette 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located off I10 exit 101, this Red Roof Inn is surrounded by multiple restaurants and businesses. Only 2 miles from the heart of the city, this Inn is convenient to access right off the interstate. Home of the second largest Mardis Gras in the country. Come join us February thru March for exciting local parades and festivities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lafayette Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Lafayette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.