We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson's Boucaniere

Johnson's Boucaniere
1111 Saint John St, Lafayette, LA 70501-6713
+1 337-269-8878
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 473 Restaurants in Lafayette
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Johnson's Boucaniere continues the Johnson family tradition of making Boudin, sausages, and tasso's once sold at the original Johnson's Grocery (since 1937. Add to that outstanding smoked pulled pork, brisket, and chicken and other smoked meats and charcuterie. Wonderful service and quality of food. A must for any Cajun or BBQ foodie.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stopped here while traveling through Lafayette. We tried the smoked brisket po-boy, a pulled pork po-boy, boudin, and the bread pudding with praline sauce. It's 5 days later and I keep thinking about how much I want another pulled pork po-boy!!! The prices were very reasonable and the meat was delicious. The boudin was very good, a little spicy, and the casing wasn't tough like the kind we get from the grocery store. We are seriously contemplating an 8 hour round-trip drive to eat here again...enjoyed it that much! The service was great as well. Also, it's just down the road from the beautiful St. John's Cathedral. Grab lunch and have stroll down to check out the church.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
fort worth, tx
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome takeout or eat on spacious porch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Yummy Oje & Campos sandwiches! Glad we indulged on bread pudding- so worth the calories. Very friendly and helpful staff. All house-made, delicious and quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Unique and Fun Place to eat in Lafayette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A Boucaniere is a French smokehouse. This was an interesting experience on a hot, sultry afternoon for a late lunch. I had heard they had good boudin and they do. You order from the counter in a building that feels like a walk back in time. The only place to eat was on the porch on picnic tables with a floor fan to keep you cool. Even on a hot day it was fine. We tried one of the specials which was a pork finger and boudin link with 2 sides. The pork finger is to die for. So tender it just slide of the bone. It was crispy with a great season. There are lots of interesting items here to try. Lots of smoked meats and sandwiches. Gumbo is seasonal and not available year round. It is right off University near ULL. I will come back. They close @ 6 on weekdays and 9 on weekends. Live music during the middle of the day and most likely on the weekends. Very much worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Real Deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

You can smell the great smell of Smoked Meats as soon as you walk in. Everything we had was good. Hot Boudin that day too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, outdoor dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I ate at this restaurant for lunch on a Wednesday. I had the plate lunch with pulled pork, cole slaw, and fresh fruit. My fiance' had the pulled pork sandwich and a bag of chips. The pulled pork was delicious. It was juicy and flavorful. The coleslaw was mayo-based, which is not my favorite, but it went really well with the pork. The fresh fruit was delicious as well. No syrup, no canned fruit. Very impressed with te quality of fruit. The portions were a nice size for lunch. I ate my entire plate lunch and was satisfied. We both really enjoyed our lunch. It was moderately priced, a little over $20 for 2 people (plate lunch, sandwich, bag of chips, and 2 bottles of water). My only complaint is that there is no in-door, air-conditioned seating. In south Louisiana, it is always so hot in the spring/summer. I would have preferred to have the option to sit inside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnson's Boucaniere also viewed

 

Been to Johnson's Boucaniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson's Boucaniere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.