We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Atmosphere and Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marcello's Wine Market Cafe

Marcello's Wine Market Cafe
340 Kaliste Saloom, Suite C, Lafayette, LA 70508
337-235-1002
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 473 Restaurants in Lafayette
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Love the Atmosphere and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We ate here twice in December and both times we were super pleased with the food and the service. Our waiter was very helpful in making entree choices. This is one of our favorite restaurants in Lafayette and we love the atmosphere. Can't wait to return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“consistently good Italian food in lafayette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I've been to Marcellos many times, for a myriad of events and family dinners. It has excellent choices of well made traditional italian food choices, thankfully, without trying to add the cajun touch. Nothing over inventive here, mostly yummy comfort food. The restaurant feels like a wine cellar, as you are surrounded by hundreds of wine options, which you can chose and open there, for only a $10 corkage fee. Or you can bring your own wine choices. Portions are plentiful and they offer half portion options. Don't miss the Mussels and the Shrimp Pepita, both my favs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, LA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lost a step”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

While traveling in the Lafayette area every 4- 6 weeks, we try to visit some of the better restaurants in this area. In the past, Marcello's has never failed to impress and we usually cannot wait to return. However, this past week the meal was mediocre meal at best.

After being seated promptly, we were greeted by a waiter who reeked of smoke and basically was a walking ash tray. After receiving a few recommendations from Mr. Smokey, we opted for the Bresaola appetizer which was basically some thinly sliced cured meat served similar to Carpaccio (I wish it was). I would give this a 5 out of 10. We both opted for the Italian salad which was basically some greens with some Sysco institutional olive salad dumped on it.

Finally, we both tried fish dishes. The Fish Limone was actually pretty good but was swimming in bit too much of the Buerre Blanc sauce for my liking. The Salmon was over cooked and dry.

Maybe it was just an off night for the crew, but I think I will wait a while before trying this place again. Mr. Smokey needs to stand in the wind to "air our" after lighting up!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The food and service here are always above-average. The only drawback is that you cannot make reservations for a party of less than six people.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“i LOVE this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My favorite restaurant in Lafayette. I frequently travel there on business and Marcello's is always my first stop. The food is exquisite, the service is wonderful and I really enjoy the wine selection.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marcello's Wine Market Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Marcello's Wine Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcello's Wine Market Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.