We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yuck” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Acadiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Acadiana to your Saves list
The Hotel Acadiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 West Pinhook Road, Lafayette, LA 70508 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Lafayette Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Lafayette
Vienna, Virginia
1 review
“Yuck”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

This hotel is not clean. Even the elevator buttons and walls are grimy and smudged.

The hotel room was damaged, holes in walls, etc and it was not clean. The bathroom toilet was dirty and still not clean after having housekeeping return. I've never before seen a ring in the bowl of a supposedly clean hotel toilet.

The next morning, I was greeted by a 1.5 " cockroach in the bathroom. The bellman moved me across the hall and assured me that the roach, who escaped back into the wall could not find it's way across the hall to my room.

When I went downstairs for coffee, there were roaches running across the steps leading into the restaurant.

I think the most upsetting element was the bellman asking me if I was from around there when I complained about the roach. I've visited all climates and a facility that is clean and maintained will not have this kind of infestation problem. And of course, the manager wasn't on duty when I asked to speak with him.

This is the first time that I have ever felt strongly enough to post a review. It was not a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    40
    37
    27
    27
See reviews for
29
32
13
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

Loved the free WiFi, sleep mask & linen spray! Room was large and bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

This hotel had many problems, although the staff of the hotel was very nice, and the hotel looked good.

The numerous problems included:

--I tried to request a wake-up call by phone, but they didn't answer, so I had to use my cell phone. But then they called me at 5 AM two mornings in a row--much earlier than I wanted to wake up! (After it happened the first time, I brought it to their attention, and they apologized and said it definitely wouldn't happen again. When it did happen again, at least they gave me that night free.)

--Although they gave me and everyone else in our group tickets for a buffet breakfast the first morning I was there, they had no food for a buffet or other breakfasts. (They did have a buffet the second morning I was there, but it was not very good .)

--The carpet was very rough--apparently damaged. When I complained, they shampooed it, which did nothing but left an odor.

--They did not replace the conditioner that I used the first day.

--We had been told that the hotel van would be available to pick us up from downtown, but when we called the hotel they said they had no way to reach the van driver (even though I know he had a cell phone).

--I did not use the heat, but several people in our group reported that when they turned the heat on in their rooms, it set off the smoke alarms, and there was an odor. Staff said that this was typical the first time the heat is used each year.

--It was constantly noisy outside the conference room--we had to repeatedly get up to make sure the door was fully closed to minimize the noise.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I will start with the pros. First and foremost, the staff is exemplary, very polite and extremely courteous. Quiet, very quiet, there was absolutely no disturbances the 4 days that we stayed. The fitness room was good, clean and equipment was in good working order. The on site restaurant is quiet and the food is very very good, and this works especially well when you couple great food with room service. Location is in a good neighborhood and is convenient to get to from Lafayette airport.
Now the cons. The hotel is clean but is need of some minor upgrades, like I said MINOR, maybe some new carpet in the hallways and perhaps some fresh wallpaper would spruce this place up quit nicely. Another minor complaint is one day our room did not get cleaned properly, we were restocked with toiletries but the bed was not made and our dirty towels were not taken care of. One other thing, the room needs a general inspection cleaning prior to rental, and by that I mean take time to wash the windows, get fingerprints off the television, wipe down the tables etc.
The biggest complaint that I had is we requested a room with a view, now I understand that this IS Lafayette La, and there may not be much to "View" in this town, but paying extra for a view of the pool and half of the roof of the hotel is not what I would constitute as a "view".
All in all the stay was good for the money spent, there are certainly worse places that you could go for this kind of money, but if Crowne plaza payed a little more attention to detail....this would make 5 stars from me all day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

Coming from Houston (IAH) the night before where we also stayed at a Crowne Plaza, this one had complimentary internet so that was nice. The room smelled like and looked like brand new carpet had been installed but apparently had just been shampooed. I know this because the maintenance man had to come up to plug in the cable as there wasn't one from the TV. The other mystery, which I had never witnessed before, was there was no bed spread/cover and although it was a made up bed with nice pillows, it looked unfinished. The other thing was the very comfortable King Sized bed was about a foot away from the wall/head board. I managed to slide the box spring and matteres the way it should be so that the pillows wouldn't fall through the massive space. It did make me question how this could be overlooked but when the maintenance man came and had explained the freshly cleaned carpets, I figured this as well as the TV was simply an oversite. Next I went to have a coffee before heading out to dinner. The makings for the coffee were stuffed in to the top of the machine but when I went to put water in the machine, I noticed there wasn't any coffee pot. On my way out for dinner I stopped by the front desk and let them know, figuring I would be good to go for the morning. I also asked about the bedspread but wasn't really given an answer but a strange look, like he wasn't sure if/why there wasn't one. Upon returning to my room after dinner, there was a coffee pot but no coffee cups for the coffee and no bedspread (I didn't really care as it is pulled back when I sleep anyway but it still looked strange). I am writing this as I am shutting things down for the night and figure my wake up call will be to ask for coffee cups to be delivered to my room... all this being said, the place is very quiet and clean.. Hotwire rates this 3 1/2 as was the one in Houston (IAH). Comparing the two I would have to give this higher marks for quiet room and room layout as well as free internet but Houston (IAH) wins out by overall appearance. I'm on my way to New Orleans tomorrow for two nights, also booked through hotwire and luck would have it, it's the Crowne Plaza Airport so I'll be sure to write about it! Oh yeah, I didn't swim but did take a look at the pool. Nice salt water pool. Small but wet and that is what is important in these parts.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

The receptionists are great! They remembered me immediately after my first stay and even accommodated me with the same room each time! The only drawback is the cleaning service is a little shoddy. My first stay, I found whoever was there before me's sushi in the refrigerator. Everything else seemed clean so didn't think much of it. I had bought ice cream and accidentally forgot it, and when I came back the next time, my ice cream was still there. Perhaps they just forget about the fridges, because like I said everything else is really clean, and everything is really high end and gorgeous. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhonda
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

Our school was booked into the Crowne Plaza for a event and we were treated very well. The food was awesome and our slaes girl took care of every detail. I will recomend this hotel to others and we will return.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Acadiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Acadiana

Address: 1801 West Pinhook Road, Lafayette, LA 70508 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Lafayette Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Acadiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce the newly $10 million renovated Crowne Plaza Lafayette Airport. The Newest Upscale Hotel in Lafayette and closest Crowne Plaza to the University of Lafayette, LA (ULL) and the Lafayette Regional Airport, this historic hotel enjoys a prime Location. Located in the heart of the Oil Center our business travelers will appreciate our proximity to Baker Hughes, Chevron, Halliburton and Schlumberger. The Crowne Plaza Lafayette Airport is convenient to Lafayette General Hospital and Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital. Guests of the hotel can catch an event at the Cajun Dome, a show at the Heymann Performing Arts Center or experience historic Vermilion Ville. Looking to spice up your trip? Take a tour of the Tabasco Plant on Avery Island, just minutes away. The facilities of the Crowne Plaza Lafayette Airport offers 14,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, wedding and banquet space, accommodating groups of 5-600 people. The hotel has a Crowne Meetings Director to assist you in all details of your meeting, wedding, conference, or banquet event.During your stay at the Crowne Plaza Lafayette Airport, experience our unique menu in the Bayou Bistro, relax in the outdoor tropical pool, or work out in the modern cardio fitness center. Each elegantly appointed guest room features 32 inch flat panel televisions, wet bar and free high-speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel Acadiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Acadiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.