We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel Acadiana is a disgraceful DUMP to The City of Lafayette and the State of Louisiana” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel Acadiana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel Acadiana to your Saves list
The Hotel Acadiana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1801 West Pinhook Road, Lafayette, LA 70508 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Lafayette Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Lafayette
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Hotel Acadiana is a disgraceful DUMP to The City of Lafayette and the State of Louisiana”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This place is a total dump food is terrible, halls and corridors stink of musky urine smell, the mattresses need to be in the dumpster, wall paper peeling off walls, rust around faucets !!!!
A far cry from the former Crowne Plaza and the General Manager won't/can't respond to calls, faxes or emails. Get the bulldozers here!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del R, Regional Director at The Hotel Acadiana, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Tommy F,

I apologize that your stay was unsatisfactory. We are in the process of making dramatic changes to the property's look, feel and taste. I know that in many cases, we cannot make up for what has already transpired, but we are working very hard to ensure all of our guest's stays are pleasant and comfortable. If you are travelling to the Lafayette area again, I would love the opportunity to show you some of the changes we are making to positively impact our guest experience. I can be reached at robinette@hospitalitymgt.com Thank you for your feedback, I find it invaluable as a hotelier.

Best regards,

Del Robinette
robinette@hospitalitymgt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    40
    37
    28
    27
See reviews for
29
32
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The issue with full service hotels is staffing them. We brought our group for Mardi Gras and the timing plus the bad weather made the hotel staff much less attentive to guests than worrying about talking to each other. Our first morning in the restaurant was Monday and there was no OJ or milk. The hotel apparently had a large school group over the weekend and didn't get a truck plus a server didn't show up for her shift. However, a caring staff member told me the next day he was going to go get the OJ and milk for our group and the management said it wasn't important. The evening hotel night clerks are really not aware of anything else going on in the hotel nor is the night manager. The rooms were fine as far as our guests reported. The public areas seemed to have been kept up well and they hosted a large training conference while we were there. The hot breakfast buffet we were served was excellent except no fruit or grain items. This was formerly a Crowne Plaza and there is always a question of why a hotel gives up its flag. I would suggest to keep an eye on these ratings as time goes on to see how they perform.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Del R, Manager at The Hotel Acadiana, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear StlTourGirl,

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Layfayette. As I read your review I became more and more concerned with your experience and how we did not meet or exceed your expectations in many instances. On one hand, reading your review was very disheartening, but on the other hand it was very eye opening and gives me and our hotel many opportunities to enhance our offering and exercise some critical training that is very obviously necessary. I know that I would not have wanted to have been served the way you were, as our guest, and I will make it my responsibility to immediately employ strategies in the hotel to enhance the overall service culture. The hotel is currently rebuilding our management staff and are only interested in attracting the very best hospitality professionals in the business to aid us in our efforts. We would love to be able to show you that first hand. The next time you travel to Lafayette, please reach out to me directly at robinette@hospitalitymgt.com

Thank you for your feedback and helping us grow.

Best regards,

Del Robinette
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Found this hotel pleasant enough for an overnight stay. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Room quiet and clean. There is an outside pool area but it was too cold outside to use. Nearby restaurants and Starbucks.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, Director of Sales at The Hotel Acadiana, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your comment which is deeply appreciated by staff and management to improve the quality of service that we present to our guest. We are ecstatic that your stay was pleasant. We strive to meet the needs and requests of our guest. Again, thanks for your business and hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here after a long drive from Houston.

The staff at the front desk were not on the ball but maybe not helped by the comuter system problems they were encountering when we arrived.

We were tired and so ate at the restaurant in house; it was distinctly average.

The room was large but was not perfectly clean as the bug running around the floor testified. The bed was not as comfortable as in similar hotels that we stayed.

I was happy to get out of the hotel the next day and get on with our travels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, Director of Sales at The Hotel Acadiana, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments which are deeply appreciated by staff and management to improve the quality of service that we present to our guest. We are ecstatic that your stay was adequate and I assure you that we are constantly making improvements to our physical appearance, quality, and service to better suit our guest. Again, we appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

1st THE BED!!! Omg the bed was so comfortable I didn't even want to get up to tour the city lol. My boyfriend and I wanted to have a quiet Labor Day weekend. The Hotel Acadiana provided that. It seems like an older hotel that has been remodeled. The lobby was beautiful and the location was great. We were in what we called downtown Lafayette. It was quiet, and not very busy. The room was clean and didn't have an odor. We were very pleased and would come again!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James F, Manager at The Hotel Acadiana, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your feedback Clacour01. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during Labor Day weekend. Our Simmons Beautyrest beds are always a plus with our guests, we are glad you enjoyed it as well. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Lafayette, La.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

The beds are wonderful. My husband and I slept like rocks. We didn't use the pool, but it is very small especially for such a large hotel. My husband remarked that we couldn't use the pool because there were 3 people in it already. Haha. The bathtub was very slow to drain, so when I took a shower, I stood in 2 inches of water the whole time. The bathroom sink cold water handle was installed incorrectly, so it didn't stop in the right place when you turned the water off...little things, but mostly cosmetic. I think the hotel has just been through a lot of haphazard renovations. Still, I would stay here again just for the beds!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, Director of Sales at The Hotel Acadiana, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your comment which is deeply appreciated by staff and management to improve the quality of service that we present to our guest. We are ecstatic that your stay with us was pleasant. We strive everyday to improve physical appearance and quality of service to meet the needs and requests of our guests. Thank you again for your business and hope to see you again soon!



Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Good location to everything, but the rooms and the staff are awesome! Had a few requests before my arrival and they were fulfilled when I arrived. Everyone was over the top friendly and helpful and the food was fantastic. On site well school was convenient and slept like a baby in very large rooms. Recommend to everyone, if you're in Laf, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suites are worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry F, Director of Sales at The Hotel Acadiana, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for your comment which is deeply appreciated by staff and management to better improve the quality of our service. We are ecstatic that your stay was pleasant. We strive daily to improve the physical appearance and quality of service to meet the needs and requests of our guest. Again, thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon!


Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel Acadiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Acadiana

Address: 1801 West Pinhook Road, Lafayette, LA 70508 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Lafayette Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 47 Hotels in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Hotel Acadiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to announce the newly $10 million renovated Crowne Plaza Lafayette Airport. The Newest Upscale Hotel in Lafayette and closest Crowne Plaza to the University of Lafayette, LA (ULL) and the Lafayette Regional Airport, this historic hotel enjoys a prime Location. Located in the heart of the Oil Center our business travelers will appreciate our proximity to Baker Hughes, Chevron, Halliburton and Schlumberger. The Crowne Plaza Lafayette Airport is convenient to Lafayette General Hospital and Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital. Guests of the hotel can catch an event at the Cajun Dome, a show at the Heymann Performing Arts Center or experience historic Vermilion Ville. Looking to spice up your trip? Take a tour of the Tabasco Plant on Avery Island, just minutes away. The facilities of the Crowne Plaza Lafayette Airport offers 14,000 square feet of combined meeting, exhibit, wedding and banquet space, accommodating groups of 5-600 people. The hotel has a Crowne Meetings Director to assist you in all details of your meeting, wedding, conference, or banquet event.During your stay at the Crowne Plaza Lafayette Airport, experience our unique menu in the Bayou Bistro, relax in the outdoor tropical pool, or work out in the modern cardio fitness center. Each elegantly appointed guest room features 32 inch flat panel televisions, wet bar and free high-speed Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hotel Acadiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel Acadiana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.