We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with Lots of Personality and Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1905 Verot School Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Lafayette B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Colorado
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great B&B with Lots of Personality and Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

This is a lovely bed and breakfast with everything you expect from that phrase. We stayed in the garconniere and the room was very comfortable and well decorated (more homey/country than fussy Victorian). The bed was huge and comfortable with good pillows. The bathroom was large and had plenty of hot water. But by far it is the food and hospitality that makes this place. Being received with t'juleps and canapes on the porch as a very pleasant surprise, as were the complimentary drinks (after dinner drinks in the house, sodas and water in the fridge in our room). The breakfast was fantastic and Maugie does indeed serve it in her red pajamas accompanied by ringing bells. Several people noted that the house is on a busy street but I do not consider this a detraction at all. The house is easy to find and close to good food and music (and boudin) yet very quiet in the evening. We also enjoyed a tour with the hosts' son through Pastor Brothers Cajun Excursions.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    33
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
81
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

This bed and breakfast was also an educational experience as the home is an original cajun farmhouse. The owners are proud cajuns who love their culture and love sharing it. The breakfast is lovely and we were even serenaded by the owners' son playing the cajun accordian.

The rooms are very cute and old fashioned in the style of the time and the price is very good. A downside is the strange location - right on a main road. But you don't notice traffic noise when you're inside.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st simons island, ga
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Maugie & Pat are wonderful. And yes, as former restsuranteurs their breakfast alone is reason to stay here. We were in the Fais Do Do room: spacious, mini frig, in room soda and coffee. Very clean. Pix on website are accurate. This old house is now near a somewhat busy intersection but you don't hear street noise.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood Springs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

We were visiting New Orleans over Thanksgiving and wanted to explore beyond the city and wanted to visit Cajun country. We thought T'Frere's was great and had lots of personabilty, something the Hampton Inn, etc. in Lafayette wouldn't offer. We don't often stay in B&B's but we met the personable hosts, interesting guests also staying there, enjoyed looking at all the collectables, listening to the accents and Boudreau and Marie jokes. We are from Colorado so it was all new and different for us. Got a great dancing recommendation from son John Pastor and went to the Blue Moon for our most fun dance night of 3 nights out and then next day John took us on a bayou tour. It was on an in-town bayou but we were not dissapointed because we saw new things, talked about Cajun history, went to the museum, saw alligators at John's secret alligator spot and ate boudin and cracklins. All new to us and only $35 each. If you enjoy culture and color, real people as opposed to chain hotels - definitely go to T'Frere's!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

My husband, five year old son and I spent the weekend to get ready for Christmas. Our main objective was to see the lights at the acadian village. The highlight of our trip was actually T'Frere's and if you ask my husband he would say the two breakfasts served at T'Frere's! We were treated like family, care was given to every detail of our stay and the traveling tips were extremely helpful. The service exceeded all expectations!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

A friend and I stayed two nights in early December 2011. Pat and Maugie were very welcoming and did a great job seating people for hors d'ouvres and breakfast so as to create interesting conversation groups. We stayed for two hours one morning, chatting with people we had only just met. The living room and guest refrigerator are also conducive to evening mini-parties with other guests. And the food....well, "ooh-la-la breakfast" sums it up. And you MUST try to T'Juleps, but be careful! They're so good, you don't taste the alcohol. I'd go back in a heartbeat next time I'm in the area.

Room Tip: House is located at the corner of a somewhat busy intersection--we found that earplugs eliminated an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gramercy la.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

We had a wonderful time the day after thanksgiving, Sunday was our first anniversary and the wife didn't have a clue I had choosen a bed and breakfast to stay in. It was our first and boy did the staff go all out. The breakfast coffee and coke (for her) came out and then the card. My wife left her reading glasses in the room,not to worry Ms Pastor read it to her. Then Mr. Pastor servered her my gift to her along with singing.. She was brought to tears. Thank all of you for being so nice and making our special day a one we will never forget....Oh did I mention all of the food and drinks were great also.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1905 Verot School Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lafayette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Lafayette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best of the Best in the South by AAA Southern Traveler Magazine 2011. The building itself was built by one of Acadiana's most famous settlers in 1880. It is a beautiful old Acadian home located right in the center of Lafayette, Louisiana. Here you will find true cajun hospitality and Free, Fresh Breakfasts every morning. Your stay includes Complimentary Cocktails and Appetizers upon check in, and complimentary breakfast, beverages and soft drinks during your entire stay. All rooms have private baths, cable television and wireless internet. We hope you visit us soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t`Frere`s Hotel Lafayette
t`Frere`s Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T'Frere's Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.