We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party 7th December” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sedgebrook Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sedgebrook Hall to your Saves list
Sedgebrook Hall
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pitsford Road, Chapel Brampton, Northampton NN6 8BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
lincolshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Christmas party 7th December”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here for the night after a Christmas party really enjoyed the event, room good food good nice area pleasant views, the only shock we got was a week later we got a receipt to say they had taken another £18:55 out of our bank account the bill /receipt was for another guests who stayed there 3 days after we left.
When contacting them at first they were not going to give us a refund it took 4 hours in total to sort this out only after I sent them a scanned copy of the information I had received with this person name and different room number displayed and on looking at the receipt it had printed on it customer not present, so be carefully when handing over your debit card as we did not realise that they could just dip in to our bank account when they liked.
Would we stay here again not sure after this experience so my recommendation is always check any bill you get as we will from now on.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Jane

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your Christmas party at Sedgebrook Hall, but disappointed to read of the issues with your bill. This was an error on our part, and I can only apologise for the inconvenience. I am sure that in future our procedures would prevent this occurring, and I do hope therefore that you would consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    94
    87
    28
    9
See reviews for
22
110
7
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's always about the pillows!  Pillows are like referees in a football game, heated rear windscreens in a car, a gap at the bar when you want to buy a drink.  If all those things are there and doing their job, you don't really notice them.  If they're not then you can be seriously disappointed.  

I'll come back to the pillows.

I now stay at the Sedgebrook nearly every week, usually for at least a couple of nights.  I've been coming for a couple of months and have already booked ahead well into next year.  It's a nice place... I like it.  

It seems there are generally two standards of room.  Some older, less well appointed rooms - others modernised more recently with a nicer finish.  Of course the latter is the better room, but the former isn't actually too bad.  I stay there on a company account and generally get the nicer rooms.

Depending on where the room is you get this hotel can be a little noisy.  The construction of the building and the thickness of the doors just leaves a little to be desired and sometimes the noise pollution from neighbours and inconsiderate corridor dwellers (especially banging doors) can be a bit annoying.  I've found that a room at the far end of the corridors, obviously, reduces this problem.

Breakfast is decent.  Buffet style - I tend to only have cereal and fruit, but on occasion when I've tried the cooked breakfast it's been OK (but the bacon sometimes seems overdone - not crispy burnt, but a little hard baked).  The restaurant is very pleasant and I like the calm it offers me before I leave for the office.  I haven't eaten in there at night as I am normally alone and prefer to eat in the bar.  The food choice isn't great and it's quite expensive for what it is - this is a bit of a let-down for a frequent visitor.

Free wi-fi is available in all areas of the hotel and it works very well for browsing.  They must have a network port blocked because I find I cannot send emails from my iPad.  I can receive them, just not send them.  I'd mention this to someone, but I'm not sure I'd actually get to speak with someone that wouldn't just give me a blank look and a shrug.

Which brings me back to the pillows...  They're terrible.  They are stuffed with some man-made spongy stuff that has never seen a duck, dead or alive.  That might not be so bad, but 90% of the ones I have experienced are stuffed so fat they're like balloons.  Other, often faceless, featureless, bland branded hotels can get this right.  The ones at Premier Inn, for instance, are brilliant feather pillows that you can sculpt as desired.  These at the Sedgebrook are like inflatables that are fit only to throw around safely in a kiddie's ball pool.  I'm writing this with neck ache!

I've mentioned it at reception.  Give them their due, they will then try to find a pillow that is at least a little less overstuffed, but as they always explain with a shrug, "all our pillows are the same type".  (This disappointingly defeatist response always then discourages me from mentioning the port blocking of their local area network!)

I don't really want to have to go elsewhere.  This place is convenient for the office and is otherwise a nice hotel with pleasant, friendly staff.  But if the neck ache is to be eliminated then short of bringing my own pillows (I won't be bringing my own pillows) I may have to find another hotel soon.  That will be a shame.  I'll renew my campaign when I return in the New Year!

Sleep well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your visits to Sedgebrook Hall. We always welcome constructive comments in order that we can improve the experience for our guests.

I note that you already have reservations for this year. If you ask for myself at Reception I would be more than happy to meet with you to look at the WiFi problem, and as a regular visitor I am sure we could source a pillow to your liking if you let us know your preference.

I look forward to meeting with you.

Ray McKibben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here as part of a group Honda Owners Club Chirstams party Fantastic service, lovely rooms good views, food excellent. Would definately stay again.

Staff very pleasant and friendly the hotel events organiser was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Worxelminxy

Thank you for your comments following your recent visit to Sedgebrook Hall.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Ray McKibben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at sedgebrook hall last night after a friends wedding. Wedding was fantastic and service was good. But the bed was far too soft for my liking, duvet wasn't big enough for the bed and water pressure needs serious addressing. It took me nearly 15 minutes to rinse the shampoo out of my hair. Dripping tap would of been more effective.
However if these issues were fixed i would stay again. Beautiful surroundings and lovely breakfast and lovely food at the wedding.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Cassmk2

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Sedgebrook Hall last month. I note your comments regarding the bed and the water pressure and would like to assure you that these issues are being addressed.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding the surroundings and the food, and I hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Ray McKibben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Although th accommodation itself was clean and tidy, it was not of the standard you would expect. in particular, the bed was uncomfortable and had a dip in the mattress.

Worse though was the poor quality of the food. I had to return the mussels because they were so over cooked. And the breakfast cereals were stale.

And don't attempt to play pool in the bar as the table is completely uneven.

All in all, a shoddy experience.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RayMckibben, General Manager at Sedgebrook Hall, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear duckjob

I am really sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at Sedgebrook Hall, in particular the bed and the food quality. One of my management team regularly stays in the accommodation, particularly if a guest is not completely happy. It is beneficial therefore if we know at the time of any issues in order that we can check immediately. If you can let me know the exact date of your stay I wil be able to look into your comments more fully.

I have spoken with Chef regarding the mussels, and can only apologise if you felt these were overcooked. We do serve quite a lot of portions and do not normally have any complaints, however I have taken your comments on board for the future.

Unfortunately the pool table does get moved around, but the maintenance team will check this regularly to ensure it is standing level.

Thank you for your feedback following your stay, it is only through such feedback that we can continually improve the service we offer to our guests.

Ray McKibben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Was here for a business meeting earlier this week. Room very nice and comfortable, however, radiator was switched off even at -1. Took a while to warm up. Service good and food always good, have used this for meetings previously.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

the staff and food here are excellent, and the surrounding gardens well kept. Close to northampton and lots of visitor attractions. Good sized room and clean. The only downside is the bathroom which needs to be revamped as the silicone is going black and grout discoloured.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sedgebrook Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedgebrook Hall

Address: Pitsford Road, Chapel Brampton, Northampton NN6 8BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Northampton > Chapel Brampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chapel Brampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sedgebrook Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sedgebrook Hall is located in the picturesque village of Chapel Brampton, in the heart of the beautiful Northampton countryside. Set in idyllic country gardens, Sedgebrook Hall seamlessly mixes Victorian heritage with modern comforts and is an ideal venue for weddings, corporate events and inspirational training along with breaks and weekends away in Northampton.Whether you are looking for a charming wedding venue, a picturesque hideaway, a state-of-the-art conference venue or simply a hotel from which to explore Northampton and relax and unwind at the end of the day; Sedgebrook Hall should be top of your list.We have 102 bedrooms set alongside the main house in a modern annexe, which also houses our conference and banqueting suites which are ideal for conferences for up to 200 and banqueting for 120.Just 20 minutes drive from the M1 and with a wide variety of local attractions including: Althorp House, Castle Ashby Gardens, Silverstone and fantastic onsite leisure activities, Sedgebrook Hall is the first choice for short breaks and weekend breaks in Northampton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sedgebrook Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sedgebrook Hall Hotel Northampton
Sedgebrook Hall Northampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sedgebrook Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.