We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful, relaxing experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Jacana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talparo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Jacana
Save
You added Hacienda Jacana to your Saves list
6 Leotaud Trace, Talparo 437258, Trinidad   |  
Hotel amenities
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
“The most beautiful, relaxing experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Hacienda Jacana was absolutely lovely. We took the all-inclusive option and had our lunch served to us by the lovely pool, and our dinner brought to our cabin. The food was fantastic, with great, unusual deserts! While my boyfriend got an in-depth tour of the farm (complete with fish breeding ponds, rabbits, donkeys, macaws and parrots) from one of the friendly owners, I chose to relax and read a book sitting on our balcony overlooking the lagoon. I saw a constant stream of hummingbirds coming right up to the balcony to drink sugar water from the bird feeders, and countless butterflies and other birds passing by. Absolutely amazing. When he got back we went canoeing in the lake and took a dip in the pool. The cabin had a lovely rustic wood look but with a full kitchen, a nice bathroom and comfortable air-condition bedrooms. We got full cell phone reception so my boyfriend could check the football scores, and there was also a TV. They can organise several island tours for you, but we chose to just enjoy our one night relaxing on the property. It is a quiet retreat, and its a nice place for walking but there are no extensive nature trails on the property itself, you would need a guide for any distance walking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
22
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We were there a weekend with our 2 young daughters and friends. It was a nice surprise the high quality of the cottages, and the good service.
Great for a weekend scape.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

We had a great time. The houses are very well kept and furnished, the area is quiet and relaxing - we just loved it.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Excellent location and amazing environment. It is grate for all kind of plans, family time, friends, couples, ... It is evident that the owners enjoy their business and the nature at the same time. The respect to the environment is present all around.
The cottages are extremely clean and very well equiped. The service is excellent and the facilities outdoors are suitable to spend a very good time.
All this in the context of a familiar business which makes you feel like in home.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hacienda Jacana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Jacana

Address: 6 Leotaud Trace, Talparo 437258, Trinidad
Location: Caribbean > Trinidad and Tobago > Trinidad > Talparo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Talparo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Jacana is a peaceful country haven. Slip into the serene setting of a private country paradise, discretely set in 22 acres on the edge of the tropical rain forest at the centre of Trinidad. Relax or BBQ poolside, walk the grounds, bird watch, read a book in a hammock under the trees or canoe in the lake. Bedrooms are air conditioned and the cottages are outfitted to the highest degree of elegance. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Jacana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.