We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STINKY AND NOT ADA ACCESSIBLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Koasati Pines Lodge

Koasati Pines Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kinder
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Koasati Pines Lodge
11586 U.S. Highway 165, Kinder, LA 70648   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Kinder
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“STINKY AND NOT ADA ACCESSIBLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in. There were no Elevators to make the 2nd floor rooms accessible for persons with handicaps. I asked if we could trade rooms for one on the first floor....I was told it was not possible and I could use the stairs. I brought up that their should be a way to access the 2nd floor other than stairs to be in ADA compliance....the young lady said I could write to the company. I will do that as well as this review. Our room, as well as many of our bus mates (we were on a bus trip from austin), REEKED of cigarette smoke. Even the towels and bedding smelled. DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: stay at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
1
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

I got a free stay at this place as a comp from the casino. I rather pay to stay somewhere better

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kinder hotels

Victoria, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

This review is for the Koasati Pines Lodge (North). We have stayed @ this facility off and on for years. On Thursday June 17,2010 when we stayed it was GOOD just like it has always been. For you High Rollers looking for a place like the Grand or the Inn, this is not it! It is the equivalent to the Super 8 that it originally was back in the mid-90's. Quiet and Comfy ! As an added bonus the Casino Shuttles comes by about every 15 minutes. If Golf is your game you are right on top of the course ( a very Nice but Challenging one).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

My wife and I were a little apprehensive due to some of the previous comments. At check in the staff was very friendly and really gave me hope that I would win. The building looked just like a normal hotel but when we opened the room door, I must say we were surprised. The room did not look like a hotel room. It was more like a home. There was a living room and kitchen plus the bedroom. The linen was new and all the furnishings. I called the desk to make sure we had the right room and was informed that the rooms were all going under renovations and that it was the new standard rooms. If this was a standard, I could imagine what a suite would be. The towels were great, my wife wanted to buy some, I never saw yellow towels and sheets at ahotel. We were very impressed. They even have a pool that is very secluded from the overcrowed at the casino. That was the best weekend ever. We will continue to stay at the new standards at teh KOASATI...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South TX
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I'm not sure I can add much to other reviewers' observations. The hotel is quite plain, like the Super 8 it used to be. It has no in-room fridge or microwave, nor an elevator. The ironing board is hanging on the wall between the TV and the sink area, in clear view while in bed. There was a gap underneath the door where I watched 2 crickets scamper in.
The positive is that the room was newly decorated and clean. The pool looked really nice and clean, as well. The staff couldn't have been nicer. When I asked about the shuttle to the casino, it was immediately dispatched. The golf course, which the hotel overlooks is stunning. While not great, I would stay here again. Really wish they would add a fridge and micro though.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pm0504
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

This hotel was a big letdown. Luckily we had a complimentary room, because I would not have paid money to stay there. Definitely needs updating. We stayed at the Grand Inn the night before which was very nice. Too bad the Kosati does not come close in comparison.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

I have read alot of the reviews for this lodge and I must beg to differ. Most of you complain that it doesnt have all the modern amenities or close access to the casino that you have when you stay at Grand Hotel. Like I said it is not the Grand Hotel, I have stayed at all of the casinos properties and I must say that the Lodge is a nice place to stay. The employees there are really nice and down to earth. For what the Lodge seems to be for the casino, it fits the criteria. A clean bed, shower and in-room coffee to get you on your way. If you want the whole something like Vegas experience then wait for an opening at the Grand Hotel but if you need a bed to pass out in after a night of gambling and drinking then book your room at the Lodge, take the shuttle to the casino and stop whining over a hair.!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Koasati Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koasati Pines Lodge

Address: 11586 U.S. Highway 165, Kinder, LA 70648
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kinder
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Kinder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right next to Koasati Pines Golf Course. The shuttle will take you right to the front door of the casino. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Koasati Pine Hotel Kinder
Koasati Pine Motel
Koasati Pine Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koasati Pines Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Koasati Pines Lodge to your Saves list