We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, roomy, and priced right.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coushatta Inn

Save Saved
You added Coushatta Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coushatta Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   777 Coushatta Drive, Kinder, LA 70648   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kinder B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable, roomy, and priced right.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a great place to stay whether one is there for the casino action or visiting the area. This was our 2nd stay and we will definitely go back. The rooms are large and comfy, and the staff is terrific. The price is very reasonable. The hotel is a very short walk to the casino and restaurants.

Room Tip: Ice makers and vending machines are located near the elevator. The walls are a bit thin and when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
6
19
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lindina22
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We really were happy with our stay at the Coushatta Grand Inn. 4 women aged 66 to 22 plus a 2-1/2 year old can be iffy to please, but this hotel and the casino managed to make our evening and night a big success. Our destination was actually Oakdale, but the 28 miles to Kinder was definitely worth the extra 45 minute drive. Check in was easy, and we appreciated the room on the first floor. The room was large, clean and no funky odor often found at hotels and motels. with two very comfortable queen beds. The bathroom was stocked for 4 people, and extra towels and coffee packs were available without a problem, even at 11pm. The Cuisinart coffee maker was big enough to make 3-1/2 cups of good Louisiana style coffee (those small styrofoam cups provided by the hotel, not a real mug). While the others headed to the casino, I stayed in the room with my napping grandson. When he woke his first words were "what's that?" regarding the big hotel-type many-buttoned desk phone. I let him call the desk to try it out. (You should have seen him checking the receiver for the buttons.) And then she called us back so he could see how it works. Kudos for having an awesome and patient front desk clerk! The shuttle to the casino is very convenient. It just runs back and forth to the Grand Inn. Be sure to pay attention to your shuttle number (5) and which casino entrance you need to use. The driver was friendly and pointed out the moving train alongside us - a very big deal to a 2 year old little boy! Coushatta seems like a perfect family vacation spot. There are 3 hotels right at the Casino, including an indoor pool and a large new waterpark that looked like fun - big curvy slide, lazy river and I don't know what else. Some things are better not pointed out to a toddler unless you're planning to use it. The casino has Quest - a huge area of video games, perfect for teens, and there is Kid Zone. After walking through the casino and Quest, I doubted Kid Zone would compete for his attention, but he took one look and was ready to play, and I was tempted to stay and play, too. There is no restaurant at the hotel, but there's a microwave by the vending machines. I heard there's an excellent seafood restaurant just a little south of the casino on 165.
I found Coushatta Grand Inn to be a big step up from chain motels/hotels, and I want to stay again next time I go to Oakdale.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingwood, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My husband and I love Coushatta because its close to home and not as small as casinos attached to the water. The Inn is fine and definitely serves is purpose. It's about a 5 min walk from the hotel to the casino, making it close enough that its not a burden, but far enough that it's difficult to run back to the room if you forgot something. In May they were in the mist of construction on the new hotel on the property, and they closed the walkway between the Inn and casino. This was very annoying because we had to wait on shuttle buses to and from the casino. I'm sure this situation will improve once the new hotel is complete, but I would check before booking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Our room had the most uncomfortable, hard bed, and although it was a nonsmoking room, it still smelled like smoke, including the hallway. Pretty dingy sheets and dismal decor, won't be stating here again, even if it's comp.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I've always liked Coushatta but up until an unpleasant incident at Isle Capri (specifically, the Inn at the Isle), never really saw the benefit in driving an additional forty miles to gamble. This is no longer the case...

I look forward to many more gambling weekends at Coushatta and hope that my experience at their Grand Inn is a welcomed indication of things to come. Clean room, larger-than-expected flat-screen tv with plenty of channels from which to choose, friendly staff, comfortable pillow-top mattresses and an above-par air conditioning unit all made for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked this room for $59 for a one night stay. It was our first trip to Coushatta. Check in went quickly and very smooth. The lobby is huge! The room was just a normal room without many frills. It was decent and clean. Nice flat screen tv. The bathroom was nice sized with a decent sized granite vanity. There was a microwave by the ice machine at the end of the hall.

The bed was hard and not very comfy. The top sheet hardly fit the king-sized bed. It must have been for a queen or even double size as it barely fit across the bed. There were only two pillows and they were flat as pancakes! Luckily we were there for just one night! The large AC units were just outside our window and made quite a bit of noise but we are sound sleepers so it didn't bother us.

This is just a place to stay for serious gamblers. The casino is within walking distance or there is a shuttle that looked like it ran frequently. I never did find the pool! It wasn't a place I loved but for the price it was okay. We signed up for the players club so hopefully won't ever have to pay for a room there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you are looking for a place to stay while gambling at the Coushatta Casino this is a nice play to stay. Pretty basic rooms and services which is ok since the casino is within walking distance and it has several restaraunts and bars. Staff is friendly and rooms are clean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coushatta Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coushatta Inn

Address: 777 Coushatta Drive, Kinder, LA 70648
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kinder
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kinder
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coushatta Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
195 spacious rooms are tastefully furnished with your comfort in mind. Just a short walk or shuttle to the casino and close access to the new Dream Pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Coushatta Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coushatta Grand Hotel Kinder

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coushatta Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.