We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“way better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport to your Saves list
Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Veterans Memorial Boulevard, Kenner, LA 70062 (Formerly Airport Inn; Wingate Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kenner
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“way better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked here last minute, due to tropical storm Karen holding our cruise ship up in the Gulf of Mexico for 2 days, and then having to rebook our flights home. Due to an early morning flight, we were just looking for a clean place to stay for one night that was close to the airport, offered an airport shuttle and was reasonably priced. Our expectations weren't extremely high, but we were pleasantly surprised at what this hotel had to offer. The room was spacious, modern, quiet and very clean. The staff were friendly, the food at the onsite restaurant was delicious and the complimentary breakfast was good with a variety of hot and cold food. I saw a decent sized exercise room and also a pool (which we never got to try as it was raining). I didn't notice much within walking distance, but I can see this being a great location if you have a vehicle.
I noticed later that they also had a shuttle to the cruise ship terminal.
I could see us staying here again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    45
    23
    7
    15
See reviews for
43
29
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I wanted to save money to do other things here and this hotel is right by the airport. Those two things are the only really good things about this place. Pretty clean rooms comfortable but not 5 star for sure. Surprisingly quite it being next to the airport. I wouldn't stay here a week but for a night or two it is a good choice. Do not plan on swimming, the pool is really tiny and right next to smoking area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The staff, from the van driver to the general manager, went above and beyond to make my stay enjoyable! Hotel was clean with a wonderful breakfast and I truly felt welcomed! Great job, Country Inn and Suites!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Point, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend of my 50th year high school reunion July 12-15. Room was neat and clean. Complimentary breakfast more than adequate. Staff was great and very helpful with directions to local restaurants and malls. Good location for us as we had to drive to downtown, Algiers, and N.O. East for various events. Will stay here again for future visits to New Orleans since we prefer to stay near an airport wherever we travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here the second week of July. This hotel was far enough from New Orleans (Kenner) as we purposely planned. It was located was right next door to aluminum commercial buildings and its surroundings were not nice at all. A questionable hotel was right across the street though we didn't feel unsafe. Once we entered the hotel we felt better as the lobby was really nice and the guy who checked us in was very polite.

Once we got into the room it was dated. If you are used to updated, nice, and very clean this is NOT the place for you. There was an ant walking on the phone and a different kind of bug with wings on the wall. Later that evening we requested an extra blanket and it had a large brown stain right in the middle. I took it to the manager and she lacked empathy for the inconvenience and simply went to another room and got us another blanket. As if that was not enought the bathroom light had an issue beyond the light bulb and we were removed from our room to another. We repacked our bags for a family of four and it was like I was going home. Though it was not something they caused it was hard to move kids and belongings at nearly ten at night. They sent an apology baggie with chips and water.

I overlooked the bad reviews on trip advisor about this place because it had positive reviews. Don't make the same mistake! Stay in Metairie! The area is clean, nice, and has plenty of restaurants too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CountryInnonline, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns and Suites by Carlson standards. While we may not be in a resort location we are ideally situated within a hub of major hotels, serving the need s of our travelers. Our hotel is a quick commute to downtown New Orleans (15min) and we are highly sought out by valued corporate and leisure guests who visit us time and time again enjoying the hotels clean & plentiful amenities.

We hope that you get to return to New Orleans soon, and can give us another chance to live up to the expectations that you had based on our other reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for two night, June 29th and 30th, 2013. Room was dated but very clean. We were disappointed with the lack of a 2 queen suite as many other Country Inns have. (We drove between Country Inns from Chicago to Tennessee to Georgia to Ft. Lauderdale to New Orleans and back to Chicago.) The outdoor pool at this hotel appears to have originally been designed as a decorative fountain/rectangular pond. It was about 3 feet deep all around with a wall on one side and several short waterfalls. It was small, cold and relatively dirty, but refreshing on a 95 plus degree day. The staff here was really friendly and had good suggestions for meals and a day trip to the French Quarter, which we drove down to instead of taking a $50 taxi. There was no shuttle to anywhere but the airport, which is very close but not obtrusively noisy at night.

Room Tip: Our room was in the middle of the hotel on the second floor, right at the top of the stairs from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

it was very average. nothing exciting, but it was close to the airport. we had a 6am flight, so we needed to get their early. they have 24 hour shuttle service to the airport which is nice. the rooms weren't very nice, but the bed was fairly comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport

Address: 1501 Veterans Memorial Boulevard, Kenner, LA 70062 (Formerly Airport Inn; Wingate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kenner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Carlson, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans Airport Hotel Kenner
Country Inn Kenner
Kenner Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.