We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Travel Winner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport to your Saves list
Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1501 Veterans Memorial Boulevard, Kenner, LA 70062 (Formerly Airport Inn; Wingate Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kenner
Exeter, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Group Travel Winner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was part of a school trip to NOLA, one of eight that I've been on over the years. Our group was 50 female and male high school students plus three female and three male chaperones. Every year we ask for and hope that our host hotel will either put all of us on one floor or, even better, put the female students and chaperones on one floor and the male students and chaperones on another floor. We generally end up on two different floors but the common sense of separating the genders never quite materializes into action. This hotel gets it! They put females on one floor and males on another and quite literally blew our socks off with this attention to detail! Not only did they have this pre-arranged, but they had four copies of room by room lists ready to give to the chaperones along with the keys ... another detail we generally have to request on check in. Fantastic!

The breakfast was well organized, substantial and there was definitely something for everyone. Our group particularly enjoyed the coffee machine which has several choices of coffee plus hot chocolate. The breakfast bar was kept stocked when our group descended on it - no small task. The manager kindly opened the breakfast bar a bit early one morning when we had to be out of the hotel and on the bus earlier than usual.

Staff and management at this hotel were abundantly friendly and accommodating throughout our stay. We sure wish every hotel our group uses could learn the lessons that this hotel already knows and does so well. Thank you Country Inn & Suites Kenner!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CountryInnonline, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Teggey, What more can we say to you, other than WOW?! Your review is quite spectacular and we are extremely grateful that you took the time to share it with us and other prospective groups! You have highlighted some of our best features and we know for a fact that it really means something to others to hear from a hands-on group leader - your review counts! We truly cannot express our gratitude for your review and the joy reading it brings to us, as a Team, knowing we have made a large group so happy! Your review serves as great encouragement to us, to keep pushing for excellence, as at times, within the Hospitality industry, that is a very challenging and lofty goal. We commit to always press on! Many thanks to you all and hopes to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    46
    23
    7
    15
See reviews for
43
29
13
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed here during Easter weekend 2013. The cable choices in the room were limited even though it stated premium channels were included in the stay. It was a large room and it was very clean upon arrival. Free Wifi worked great. There was a gym and free breakfast every morning. I dont recommend the self serve juice containers - we found mold floating in our cups - indicating it probably was not freshly changed every day. There was a $20 holding charge to my credit card that was never credited to me - even though the room was left in the same condition it was recieved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CountryInnonline, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay did not quite live up to expectations! It’s disappointing to hear that we have fallen short in providing the type of experience we aim for. I am glad that you enjoyed the many business amenities including complimentary Wi-Fi and the use of our newly installed state of the art fitness equipment. We have incorporated your comments into our training sessions and addressed issues that you had encountered with the department concerned. We take your review very seriously. Also so that you are aware many hotels including ours authorize funds for incidentals. . These funds are not charged by the hotel though the holding bank releases these funds within their own time frame. I hope this answers your concern and we hope that you accept our apologies and give us another shot next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eynon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here on May 12, 2013. This hotel has a free airport shuttle. Upon arriving at MSY I called the hotel and they sent the shuttle. It was quick to arrive and just a short drive to the hotel. Upon arriving at the hotel we were quickly greeted and within 5 minutes were up in our room. The room was HUGE, i was very surprised with the size of the room. Around 5:30 we went downstairs for dinner. One thing to be aware of is the bar is closed on sunday so you need to bring your own beverages if you want something other than water. The food was fine and prices were what you would expect out of eating in a hotel. We had a 6 am flight so the shuttle was ready to take us back to the airport at 4:30am. You arrange for the return shuttle when checking in. If i ever need a hotel for a one night stay near the airport i would absolutely stay here again. The runway is close but after 9pm we didnt hear the planes any longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CountryInnonline, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your vote of confidence in our facility and staff! We do take a great deal of pride in our service and operations, but more importantly, that our guests had an enjoyable stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant serving many local favorites. While our Lounge is closed on Sundays, there are many lounges in the area to choose from. Our guest services are always available to assist and provide additional recommendations. Overall I am glad that you had a quiet and restful stay and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Calvary, WI
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed here with a school group when we were visiting New Orleans, and we were happy with our stay. We never heard airport noise and the walls were well insulated, so we didn't hear a lot of noise from adjoining rooms. The room was clean, and the free WiFi worked great. Breakfast was average for this type of hotel but could have been better with a few more selections. For instance, there weren't any bananas or green apples, just oranges and red delicious apples. There were no waffle makers, and no bakery type items either. They did have hot items like eggs. Pool was VERY small and unheated, and there was no hot tub. Overall it was not great, not terrible, it was right in the middle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CountryInnonline, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I am so happy to hear you and your group had a great time in New Orleans! We definitely agree with you that we are one of the quietest hotels in the airport - great soundproofing! I am glad that you enjoyed our many amenities. Our breakfast selections are extensive and varied and enjoyed by most. The hot and cold items provided are a great mix as there is something for everyone. Although the pool will not be a place you swim laps, it can still serve a very worthy purpose before/after a day running around the city. We certainly hope that you will return to stay with us again to experience our many amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is a great place to stay with a group. Super Staff. Great Service. I have taken two school groups to New Orleans and this is where we stay. The ability to order meals in the evening was a great help for hungry students.

Room Tip: Airport runway on the south side. Love to hear the planes coming in and taking off. Can watch them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CountryInnonline, Manager at Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you and your group enjoyed our amenities and services. We have a variety of cuisines to satisfy all of our leisure and corporate travelers. Our menu consists of local and international favorites which I am glad to know our guest love!! We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This place is suited for a short stay. The staff is underwhelming, the rooms are clean, the sheets are the absolute worst. Sleeping wasn't very comfortable with 3 thread count sheets(yes, you read that correctly). I'm pretty sure they were certified dollar store quality. The A/C unit was unreasonably loud. If you're a light sleeper like me, skip this one if you actually need rest. Let's just say, I got a lot of extra work done! Easy access to HWY and shopping.

Room Tip: I doubt if any are better than the others, very average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CountryInnonline, Manager at Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory experience during your stay. It is unfortunate that you felt this way. Please call the hotel directly so we can discuss your stay. We hope you will consider us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Inn was very comfortable and in very good shape. Refrigerator and microwave in the room as well. Although located close to the end of the airport runway, we were not disturbed by noise at all. Very nice restaurant and in addition to dinner the staff provided us with rolls and fruits for breakfast. We had to leave the Inn before the breakfast room opened in the AM.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_CountryInnonline, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your very helpful review! Each guest we have the pleasure of serving, has a different set of needs and wants and we remain determined to meet as many of those as possible! Our guest rooms are all fully equipped and I am very glad to hear that you were well looked after by our staff at the crack of dawn by providing some energy giving foods! We warmly welcome you back so we may have the pleasure of serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport

Address: 1501 Veterans Memorial Boulevard, Kenner, LA 70062 (Formerly Airport Inn; Wingate Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kenner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Kenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans Airport Hotel Kenner
Country Inn Kenner
Kenner Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn and Suites New Orleans Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.