We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls Paper Thin” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2125 Veterans Blvd., Kenner, LA 70062 (Formerly Park Plaza Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Kenner
Hibbing, Minnesota
1 review
“Walls Paper Thin”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had trouble checking in, I had booked through hotels.com and had a confirmation number and already paid for the room, but, the hotel didn't have us in their system. Therefore we had to contact hotels.com ourselves and have them talk to the hotel, finally we did get checked in about 45 minutes later. Luckily they still had a room for us. Room was very dirty, tub had hair in it, hair on the sheets and floor in the bathroom was broken. Also, walls are paper thin, you could hear everyone talking as they walked by your room, plus airplanes flying above. Not a good deal for your money.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    9
    11
    21
See reviews for
6
18
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012 via mobile

Key cards don't work to get in from outside. Bathtub water was orange, rusted pipes I suspect. Nice breakfast with cereal, muffins and Belgian waffle maker. Bed was comfortable, new flat screen tv's.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

we checked into room which was okay for staying just for the night and we noticed how bad parking was. The room was comfortable enough and we were only there a few hours for celebrating in New Orleans New Years Eve night. We got back about 2am and it was chaos in the parking lot. Everybody in the cars were jammed up with no places to park, we were told to go in back far away from our room, and its not in the best area of town right off the street. The lot is not gated or secure at all and people were drinking and partying in the lot. We went to office to check out and drive home which was about 2 hrs. away into Baton Rouge. The office staff was very rude and barely spoke English. They just kept pointing at some kind of contract for us to sign to check out and threw the papers at us. We just left and people were talking so loud in the office you didn't know if complaining or what. They should not take reservations if they have no room to accomodate parking in a safe area. We tried calling on phone after getting back to Baton Rouge and could hardly find a person who spoke English clear enough to help us and make sure we were checked out and not charged for another day. It was very hard for us to have to drive back after celebrating all night in New Orleans and was very careful driving on the interstate with lots of police around.

Room Tip: It is a very old place with staircases and no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

If your are a light sleeper or need sleep this is a dont on the list any hotel in this area would be a dont first off this is located so close to the airport that you can hear planes landing and taking off. Not so bad if they wheren't so freaking loud. Also not everyone likes to be quite and likes to consider that someone else other than themselves wants to sleep and you can hear doors slamming all night. The breakfast isn't as nice as the pictures make it seem. The have cereal, two toast choices and a couple of muffins and coffee and juice that is all if you need something more go some place else. I didn't notice till I was checking out Sunday morning but apparently they let everyone from the neighborhood party in the parking lot. I went out to loud the car got hit on 4 times and had to move three glass beer bottles just to get out of the parking lot. This hotel does have some good parts the elevator does work does it look bad yes but it does run nothing a little cleaning wouldnt fix as for the rooms they are clean very very clean as in I could walk across the floor with bare feet and they not get black, plenty of towels and outlets and lights, and parking was plentiful and overall I would say if you can sleep throught anything this is a o.k place to stay if not you might not even want to stay in Kenner at all.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenner, Louisiana
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Front desk staff was okay. Not rude or friendly, just okay. The room was okay. I just wanted peace and quiet, that's all. It's not 3 or 4 star, so don't expect "red carpet" service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

New paint over peeling sheet rock describes this place. At the entrance is a green, murky, nonworking fountain as a sign of things to come. No child locks at pool area. Hoses stretched out across walkway. Hot tub did not work, pool was dirty. Air conditioners leak on walkways making them green and slippery. Rooms are dirty, toilets don't like to flush, lights that don't work.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011 via mobile

The hotel rooms aren't in the most updated conditions. The room I stayed in didn't have have a flat screen television, which I found odd cause the other rooms did (I suppose just bad luck!) The pool area was okay, cleanliness wasn't much of an issue. The elevator to the hotel was majorly outdated, looked like it was about to break down, and smelled kind of funky. The area surrounding the hotel was a pretty decent area, you had plenty of stores/places to dine that were literally one minute away. It was only 15 minutes away from New Orleans Downtown, and not any major traffic issues there. Overall...okay.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2125 Veterans Blvd., Kenner, LA 70062 (Formerly Park Plaza Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Kenner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Kenner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Kenner
Kenner Best Inn
Best Inn Kenner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.