We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, best fairfield room ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Houma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Houma to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Houma
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1530 Martin Luther King Blvd, Houma, LA 70360   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Houma
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Convenient, best fairfield room ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We had a nice big room. The hotel was convenient to most all the shopping and restaurants in Houma. It is a little more than most Houma hotels, but you can earn and use Marriott points.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
10
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2008

It's surprising nice how Marriott has upped many of its hotels to the qualiity of a business suite/apt living standard making it convenient for the business travelers to both work and play out of their hotel. The Fairfield Inn is no exception and this arrangement is very welcome. The business/living room area is neatly separated from the bedroom (no door but separate rooms). Included were a mini refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker (unfortunately no kitchen) sharing the vanity area while the living room sported 2 large flat screen TV's and mp3 player!

The free stuff doesn't stop coming with this hotel and i'm a big lover of perks! My room came with FREE wi-Fi (some hotels will charge you for this service), FREE hot breakfast from 6-9A daily (love when hotels do this!), complimentary fruits and an indoor swimming pool. This hotel is like an all-in-one package making it easy for you to work and live out of your room.

The staff is friendly, down-to-earth and supportive (the elevator was broken on the weekend I arrived and guests were thoughtfully put near the stairways and on the lower levels to ease the inconvenience. I would gladly return to this hotel.

Location is conveniently off of Martin Luther King blvd , next to a Rally's Drive In. My only negative comment is that the turn for the hotel, is not clearly and largely marked by ANY sign. (you WILL pass the hotel and wonder how to get in- its almost best if you turn into the Rally's parking lot to find your way into the hotel)

  • Liked — The apartment-like setup and the extra freebies
  • Disliked — driveway is not marked by an entrance sign
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

This place is a decent hotel. There wasn't anything particularly great or horrible about it. The bed was rock hard, but for the price it wasn't really a big deal. I would probably stay at the New Holiday Inn next time I’m in Houma though.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

A few things were not up to par, one was the water pressure was practically non-existent, the portable de-humidifier was incredibly loud. But other than that, the hotel was nice.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

Arriving at the hotel we were greeted by a non-caring person at the front desk that was more worried about her personal phone call then waiting on us. Then we were given a room by the ice maker. I went down and requested a quieter room if possible. Went up to the new location only to find it ajoined by the elevator. We just took it and settled in. While the hotel appears to be older and in need of repairs overall it was clean. When we went down to get into the whirlpool/swimming pool we found the whirlpool in total disaray. Large pieces of plaster/plaster paint floating in the whirlpool. The drain was covered with loose plaster and cracks in the walls and seats exposed to bare concrete. No way with the hot water temps and baterial growth that can occur under these conditions were we going to climb into the whirlpool. The swimming pool wasn't in as bad a condition but not far from it. Our reason for picking the hotel was the indoor pool/whirlpool feature that we could use in December. Well that didn't prove to be true once we saw it. The elevator door was lopsided and scrapping each time it opened and closed. The breakfast and remainer of the hotel employees were friendly and helpful after our check in clerk experience. Breakfast was okay and since it was complimentary you couldn't complain. When sent a review form from the hotel chain I filled it out and was contacted by the hotel itself. They were sorry and agreed about the pool area condition and said it had enough chemicals in it to make it safe to use. Well that was their opinion not mine. If the hotel was refurbished and the pool area closed and renovated it would be what you expect from a Fairfield Inn. Be prepared to have a portable dehumidifier in your room as well. One that rattles and makes a lot of noise.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2004

We enjoyed our king executive room at the end of the hallway on the first floor. Not near elevators or ice machines (don't know if they're noisy) and within easy walking distance of parking lot and indoor pool and hot tub. Enjoyable Continental Breakfast (cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, juice, & waffles) Pool is a little small and milk offered with breakfast was frozen, but still well worth the price we paid for a relaxing night (about $90) Comfortable bed, nice couch, coffee table, and TV w/ remote. Big window and bathroom. Carts so you can move your belongings in one trip. Nice furniture! Very friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms and bonus fridge and microwaves! Cokes from machines are $1.00 Towels provided for pool use!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Houma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Houma

Address: 1530 Martin Luther King Blvd, Houma, LA 70360
Location: United States > Louisiana > Houma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Houma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Houma 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Houma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Houma
Fairfield Houma
Houma Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Houma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.