We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - even better dessert!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nancy's Seafood Shack

Nancy's Seafood Shack
1226 Grand Cailliou Road, Houma, LA 70363
985-873-2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 154 Restaurants in Houma
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Gurnee, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food - even better dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Went to this restaurant as it was the top ranking in Houma. Not in a very picturesque part of town, but the food was great. We had boiled shrimp, broiled oysters and the crab salad and all were outstanding. Be sure to save room for dessert - the best part of the meal was the bread pudding and pecan pie!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

While visiting New Orleans my wife and I took a trip to Houma to get some Two Brothers Crawfish Boudin which is awesome. We stopped for lunch at Nancy's and little did we know we were about to have one of the best meals ever.
We had the Shrimp Po'boys and onion rings. The sandwiches were fantastic and the onion rings were cooked to perfection, not greasy at all. The honey mustard sauce was absolutely the best we have ever had. Our server, Casie, was fabulous, attentive, knowledgeable and very helpful. BTW, each Po'boy would feed two people, we have lunch for tomorrow.
Try the Bread Pudding with Rum Sauce, it's to die for.
It's no wonder Nancy's is the number one restaurant in Houma.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raceland, Louisiana
1 review
“Very good boiled seafood and salads”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have never been disappointed! Great food, service, and atmosphere.The service is fantastic. Great spot for Sunday lunch too!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The other reviews don't lie.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The other reviews do not lie about the freshness of the seafood. We ordered soft shell crabs, a seafood platter and a salad. It was all fantastic. The service was quick and friendly. This is a family restaurant with TVs on the wall showing live sports. Nothing fancy, but excellent food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richwood, KY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Very good for lunch,(Did not do dinner here). was impressed with the food and Q&Q. had to wait a long time from order to being served. would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nancy's Seafood Shack also viewed

 

Been to Nancy's Seafood Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nancy's Seafood Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.