We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paper thin walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Houma

Howard Johnson Houma
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Houma to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Houma
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 Lamar Street, Houma, LA 70363   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Houma
HOUSTON
1 review
“Paper thin walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I could hear the conversations from the other rooms, all the foor traffic in the hallways, and the upstairs room pacing back and forth. Other than that, just fine

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohouma, Manager at Howard Johnson Houma, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for completing the review for us in regards to your past stay at Howard Johnson-Houma. We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    25
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
36
13
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Checked in, loved the location, nice and quiet area. The room next door had three screaming kids, and another two across the hall, and the air-conditioning didn't work at all. So we requested a different room. We were told the maintenance man was working on the power to the A/C (this was, after all, only a week after Isaac came through), so we were moved anyway. The second room was much better. It was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Unfortunately, periodically through the night, we could hear the bed in the upstairs room squeaking, faster and faster...wonder what was going on there, as there were only workmen staying there that night. We did have a problem with the internet, which apparently was hotel-wide, but was fixed by the time we returned after dinner. The staff was extremely helpful, and we would definitely recommend the motel to others. It's not the Hilton, but it also wasn't Hilton's prices.

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor if you don't want to be wakened by the sounds of creaking beds upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohouma, Manager at Howard Johnson Houma, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to tell us about your stay at Howard Johnson-Houma. We're appreciated your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I came to Houma, for the Peyton Manning football camp recently. It was a little bit of a drive from my hotel to Thibodaux. I must say it was well worth the drive! They will have my business again next year :) The staff was very welcoming, from the reservation, to checking out. The rooms were very nice, and clean, not to mention very quiet for having several kids there. The management was awesome! The desk staff were very sweet & helpfull! Even housekeeping made sure to smile in the mornings. TWO THUMBS UP! Great job team Howard Johnson, see you guys next year!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohouma, Manager at Howard Johnson Houma, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to tell us about your stay at Howard Johnson-Houma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Amant, Louisiana
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for several years for a youth conference. The staff is always nice and considerate but Saturday night was shocking. We had 4 people staying in each room and there were only 3 sets of towels in each room. When our kids went to the front desk and asked for more towels the man on duty was very rude and told them NO. I accompanied one of the youths to the front desk and asked for towels for them. He told me that they were given extra towels on Friday night. I asked him if the room had been cleaned and towels replaced. He was VERY rude to me. I asked if the kids were not supposed to bathe. When he finally realized that I was not leaving without towels, he went and got a set and threw them at me. I wanted to ask if he wanted me to go and wash some towels. Very disappointed. I don't think he needs to be in the service industry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Howard Johnson Houma, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
First of all, Melissa, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your previous stay was not as pleasant as usual, and sincerely apologize for the desk clerk’s behavior. On the night of the youth conference, the hotel was at full occupancy including 250 kids. Because most of them also enjoyed the pool, the demand for towels was out of control. Regardless, there is no excuse for the rudeness that you experienced. Management is currently working to deal with this issue and improve our customer service. We assure you that this will not happen in the future. Again, we are very sorry for the disrespect. We hope that you return despite the incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet area "off the strip". Outstanding management, very clean, nice breakfast and quiet. Not far from plenty of restaurants and things to do in Houma. Perfect hotel and an excellent value.

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet room ask for a room opposite the parking lot. Overlooks a residential ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojohouma, Manager at Howard Johnson Houma, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for posting your review and we appreciated your kind words. We're so proud of our cleaned and friendly hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Close to Convention Center. Wonderful family that manages the hotel. A great value for the price. The rooms were clean. The towels were wonderful.

Room Tip: If you are attending a convention at the Civic Center, this is a hotel to choose. You could walk to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, La.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Room was very clean and comfortable. The only thing that happened that some people may find upsetting is that on the 2nd day we got locked out our room twice. Apparently when a key is reset they have to do them together and ours was reset separately. Other than that it is a 4****

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Houma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Houma

Address: 105 Lamar Street, Houma, LA 70363
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Houma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Houma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Houma 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Houma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Houma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.