We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't sure, but was really surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Westbank

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Westbank to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Westbank
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Lapalco Blvd., Harvey, LA 70058   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Harvey
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wasn't sure, but was really surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Not a big Best Western fan but my client told me to stay here. Pleasantly surprised at a recently updated motel. Room was clean, bed was comfortable and the staff was incredibly friendly. This is a good location if you're doing business in the Belle Chasse area. I wouldn't reccomend it if you are headed to the French Quarter- a bit too far. Lots of local restaurant choices. Skip the Copeland's attached to the hotel and go to the Louisiana Seafood & Hamburger restaurant just a block away.

Room Tip: 3rd floor eliminates noisy overhard neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    66
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
82
54
7
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mason City, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Everything you expect and more! Betty at the Courtyard is awesome and takes great care of her customers! I love the Courtyard! It's like being at a private resort because it's in the center of the hotel but open-air. Absolutely beautiful! The grounds are very well kept with colorful plants and flowers. I loved the fact that when I drove up to the hotel the sign out front said "Prayer works" and in the room the Bible was open on the table with an awesome welcome note explaining that this hotel cares about how comfortable and "at home" you feel.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, everyone wants to stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Having lived most of my life in New Orleans, I had no reason to stay at this hotel. However, my wife and I moved to Tennessee in 2005, and made a trip back to the Big Easy for Mardi Gras, bringing along a few friends. Due to my familiarity with the area and the hotel's fairly convenient location to the city, we opted to stay here. Overall, this was a good choice.

The hotel has a nice appearance, with a central area that attempts to recreate the atmosphere of a French Quarter courtyard. The bar/lounge is located by the pool, but it their posted operating hours seem to be ignored. The rooms are spacious and clean, but the service was sketchy. We rarely received enough towels, and had to repeatedly call the front desk to request more. The main breakfast area was packed, and the food was depleted constantly. I attribute these problems to the fact that it was the big Mardi Gras weekend and the hotel was completely booked. The fact that a large high school band from Cleveland, Ohio was there probably didn't help matters. Still, the capacity was not unexpected, so they should have been prepared for this with more staffing and supplies.

For the most part the hotel was quiet. I'm not sure whether this can be attributed to the construction of the hotel or the fact that we were pretty tired each evening and slept through any noise being generated.

A big feature is that the hotel is conveniently located. There is a Copeland's restaurant right next door (excellent food and atmosphere), and numerous other establishments (pharmacies, convenience stores, other restaurants) within a block or so. It is located at a busy intersection, so be careful when exiting the parking area.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Location: The motel is located in a commercial/retail area. Near the motel are two pharmacies, a physician's office, several fast food restaurants, and a quick lube. Without traffic you can reach the WWII museum/superdome in the central business district in 20 minutes. The French Quarter in 30 minutes.

We drove into New Orleans and also took the Algiers Ferry. If you want to go to the Aquarium the free for passengers ferry is a relaxing way to get to New Orleans. The rate for the nearby parking lot seems to depend on the phase of the moon, the demand for parking and who knows what. You may want to negotiate.

All motel rooms are entered from the pool courtyard area. Your room key opens the outside door to the courtyard. This allows the rooms to be quiet and provides some security. There are no windows overlooking the parking lot.

The free breakfast was better than the normal free breakfast. Items included scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, grits, waffles, fruit, danish, cereal, orange juice, tea, coffee, and milk. When we travel I normally locate a Denny's but enjoyed the breakfast here.

I do not travel with a laptop so I used their computers in the “business center” in the main lobby.

The motel appears to be older and has not had a recent upgrade. We were satisfied with our room and pleasantly surprised to find a microwave and a small usable refrigerator. Our room was clean.

The attached restaurant is a real restaurant not a captive restaurant such as found in Holiday Inns. We went to Copelands at 5:00 pm Sunday after a Saints football game. The restaurant was crowded with local fans. We enjoyed our meal.

The staff was friendly and helpful. If you are the type that wants to walk through the French Quarter at 2:00 am with a cup of liquid refreshment then you should stay there. If you are willing to drive for 20 or 30 minutes to save $150 per night enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

The rooms are clean and the staff is average. The only real problem is thier internet. The hotel stays fairly full with lots of business travelers. I assume most use the internet and the hotels network can't handle the load. Give up on doing anything other than checking e-mail in the evening. If you want or need internet stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Hotel was basically a quiet place to stay. At one point we heard banging down the hall somewhere but night time was quiet. So much light though the room was pretty bright during the night. We covered the microwave and clock with a towel. Couldn't do anything about the light from the window even though it had curtains. Bedding clean and comfortable with pillow top mattresses. Main room was clean except the floor needed vacuuming, there was some small trash on the floor under the desk.. Bathroom could have been cleaner. A crumbled plastic cup was on the bathroom floor. Small amount of urine and hair and scum on bottom base of toilet. Tub was clean as was inside of toilet.
Breakast was very ample with hot food such as scrambled eggs, grits and bacon, toast, cereals, fruit, muffins, juice, milk and coffee. The eating area was very small and food could not be carried out.
The corridors were covered however they were open to the outside and very warm and steamy. But if I needed to stay in this area again I would probably stay here. I just hope the clean up crew will address the bathroom toilet a little better. It was usable but the base of toilet should be cleaned better. Otherwise not too bad over all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, TX
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed here one night during a long road trip. I chose this property based on reviews, and also because it was close to family members for visiting. We got a great rate with a military/government discount ($89) for a room with 2 queen beds. Motel is U-shaped, and all rooms have exterior entrances that face inside towards the pool/courtyard area. The pool and courtyard area is very nice, but hot in the summer time. There is no open breezeways for ventilation, so it even after 7pm at night, it was hot to sit out by the pool. All a/c units running, make the walkways, and elevators very hot. This is an older property, so it does show some age, but it is well kept overall, and rooms were clean. Beds were very comfortable, and we had a good nights sleep. The hotel offers a complimentary hot breakfast in the morning, and it was very good. All food was hot and fresh, and attendant was very helpful and friendly. We ate dinner at the adjacent Copeland's restaurant, and it was good - a bit pricey, but good. Overall, we thought this to be a good value, and good place to stay for our family, and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Westbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Westbank

Address: 1700 Lapalco Blvd., Harvey, LA 70058
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Harvey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Harvey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Westbank 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Westbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Westbank Hotel Harvey
Best Western Harvey
Harvey Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Westbank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.