We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it , would definitely go back!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5424 Citrus Boulevard, Harahan, LA 70123   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harahan
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Liked it , would definitely go back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had two studio suites for ourselves and mother. The affordably priced rooms were well furnished, kitchens fully equipped. All the amenities mentioned in the hotel website were present. The daily, free breakfast was very good, with fresh fruit, muffins, waffles, oatmeal and cold cereals. Free parking, proximity to the airport, and the quiet locale were all a great plus. Staff were warm, helpful, accomodating. The small "store" has a limited array of food items, including frozen and snacks for sale. It was easy to drive in and out of New Orleans and environs. The small fitness center and laundry room were well maintained and available when I needed them. There is a small pool and patio that definitely got used by other guests who seemed to enjoy it. The hotel was clean and appeared well maintained. My only complaint is that the feather free room I requested in advance had feather pillows on the bed. I am allergic to feathers, and have had this problem at virtually every hotel I stay in. Staff brought up foam pillows promptly and apologized profusely. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Room Tip: We always ask for a room on a high floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, Manager at TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! I apologize for the mishap with the pillows, but I'm glad we were able to fix it for you right away. I will make sure we add double-checking for this preference to our daily routine - thank you for bringing it to our attention! It's an excellent training topic for our staff, and will only help us improve. We can't wait to see you when you return to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    13
    5
    3
See reviews for
21
7
5
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gautier, Mississippi
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Well-kept grounds and a fairly quiet location. The parking spaces are too small though and you run the risk of getting your vehicle nicked by someone's door. Unloading and loading your luggage becomes comical. One parking area has uber-sprinklers. You'll see what I mean if you get up early. My room was near the elevator and stairs so that was handy. Decent layout in the room with a small kitchenette. No icemaker so fill the trays when you get there or buy a bag of ice. Big enough closet for 2 people. I'm not sure about the breakfast since I headed to work long before it was served. The lady at the desk in the afternoons was great. Nice and very helpful. Housekeeping did well but didn't replace the empty Kleenex box. Not a big deal. I guess a $3 tip wasn't enough. All things considered, this is a pretty nice place to stay for a few days. Just be mindful of the traffic and construction on Clearview. And your GPS doesn't recognize the road changes with the Huey P. Long Bridge work. That will make your afternoon interesting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, Manager at TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
It's always great to hear that we were able to fit the needs of a frequent traveler. We will complete a full room renovation this summer, so if you find yourself in the area this fall, the hotel would be delighted to host you again - crazy Huey P. Long construction and all - thank you for your feedback and for choosing us for your business trip to the New Orleans area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a reservation at the Courtyard in the Downtown French quarter area, and it was SO noisy and busy that I decided to move. Was able to get a late reservation here. It is only 15 minutes away from the French Quarter, but what a difference. Much quieter. I liked having a small kitchen even though I was only there for 1 night. They do a buffet breakfast in the morning (which I slept through!). Can't beat the price. I slept like a log. This isn't as upscale as the Courtyard, but that isn't what Townplace Suites are all about. The women at the front desk were super nice.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the food restaurant and on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, Manager at TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We're so happy to have been a quiet and comfortable place for you to rest your head while staying in New Orleans! Sometimes, it is nice to get away from the non-stop hustle and bustle of the French Quarter (even though it is a lot of fun!), and we hope you come back and see us when you travel through the area again. We are planning a renovation for this summer, so hopefully we can impress you with our new (but still simple and classically TownePlace) look. Thanks so much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale, Mississippi
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I stayed here on business in New Orleans. If you know anything about N.O. its that the traffic can be horrible. This hotel is very easy to get in and out of which is a definite plus. It is close to several eating places, a shopping area, and next door to a movie theater. Check in was very easy and I was in my room in no time. I believe it was called a home office studio. It had a queen bed, couch, very large work area with a rolling table to expand the work area. It also had a full kitchen. This was a very comfortable room. I had plenty of room to spread all my work out. The overall feel of the hotel was one that had been renovated a little while back and was reasonably clean. I felt very safe because you had to use your room key to access anywhere in the guest area even if you went by the front desk area.
One distracting point: I don't know who picked the carpet out for the hall ways but it was horribly ugly and hurt my eyes haha. (that really didn't have much bearing on whether I liked the hotel but it is worth mentioning if that type of thing bothers you).
The breakfast was good with typical fare including self-made waffles, cereal, grits, oatmeal, etc.
I enjoyed my stay at the Towneplace Suites and will probably return when I'm back in town for business.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie G, Manager at TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. I am glad you found yourself so comfortable (and safe) and were able to take advantage of everything our property and neighborhood has to offer. While our carpet is fairly new, we are planning to replace it during our upcoming renovation this summer - we hope to see you sooner than that, but we would love your thoughts on the new design when we're finished. Thanks again for your kind words, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces,NM
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Town Place in Metairie on Dec 7-10, 2012. The place is convenient to MSY international airport about 10 minute drive. It's close to an open space shopping mall ,IMAX theater, a small casino, restaurants and freeways. It's about 20 minutes to the City of New Orleans. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, comfortable beds, a staple continental breakfast and the best thing is that you don't have to pay for parking. It's a nice quiet place to rest and relax.If we go back to New Orleans, we'll stay at the Town Place again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Helping you settle in and connect to the local area are two of TownePlace's biggest goals and it's wonderful to see that our efforts paid off. Thank you so much for your kind words about our property - we can't wait to see you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort walton Beach, FL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

For a Marriot property, I expected better. The hotel just really was not clean. Everything looked like it could use an update. On the plus side, the staff was absolutely wonderful. They were kind, helpful, and welcoming. Still, we won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff R, General Manager at TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. We try to maintain the utmost standards of customer service and love when our efforts shine through even the difficult stays. We were very surprised to read that the room was not up to expectations, as we strive to provide the most clean and comfortable guest suites as we can, and we have already taken steps to fix this for future guests. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here on the front and back end of a cruise in November, 2012. The property is just as expected for a mid level Marriott property... clean, functional and comfortable.
Wait, did I say comfortable?
The couches are, without a doubt, the most uncomfortable I have ever experienced. They are fold out beds and the edge just digs into yout thighs. They are managable if you pull the cushion over the edge and pack some pillows behind your back.
Other than the couch, the room is quite comforable with 5 pillows on the bed and a few more in the closet.
The property itself is located in a less than desireable part of town with no restaraunts within walking distance. If you have a car, I recommend The Dockside which is about 1/2 mile back to the corner of Citrus and Dickory.

The staff at the hotel is extremely friendly and quite attentive. We had a problem with our TV upon check-in and someone was in our room within 5 minutes to fix it.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that needs convienent access to New Orleans but does not require immediate, local services.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie

Address: 5424 Citrus Boulevard, Harahan, LA 70123
Location: United States > Louisiana > Harahan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Harahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both business travelers and vacationers alike will enjoy the comfortable and friendly TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie extended stay hotel. This New Orleans area pet friendly hotel is designed to meet the needs of an extended stay guest, whether visiting for vacation or business. Enjoy free wireless Internet access and fully equipped, full size kitchens. Enjoy all the comforts of home with complimentary continental breakfast, outdoor swimming pool, on-site fitness center, and personal laundry facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites New Orleans Metairie Hotel Harahan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites New Orleans Metairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.