We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“doesn't meet standards of Hampton Inns” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5150 Mounes Street, Harahan, LA 70123   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harahan
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“doesn't meet standards of Hampton Inns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lobby maintenance going on for at least 2 months. Guests have to run around outside of building in rain to get to lobby. Beds are not up to Hampton Inn standards-you can feel the springs. They do not let you know at reservation time that there is construction going on. The pool is outside and around the back. the directions to the pool, points to a side door, then you're on your own walking around the building to find the pool. Rooms were spacious and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    76
    33
    18
    7
See reviews for
68
33
12
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This Hampton Inn & Suites were great on my visit on June7th-9th of this year. I was to stay at a Marriott Hotel. When I arrived, the management would not honor my confirmation price. I normally stay at this Hampton Inn & Suites, but trying to save a little money I went someplace else. I ended back at this Hampton and they graciously took super care of me. I am in this area one weekend a month and I booked a room for the next several months. Thank you, Hampton Inn & Suites for taking care of me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you so much for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our employees were able to help you with your stay. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Elmwood/New Orleans.

Jennifer Portera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria La, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you are travleing to this area I would this is the place to stay . My Jobs requires weekly travle and this was the right place for me. Clean & Quite Rooms Very nice employees . Well kelp business Look Forward to staying here again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everyone at the front desk was extremly nice and helpful, especially Kris ;). The breakfast every morning was well maintaned and varied daily. There was plentiful shopping and restaurants within walking distance of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The room smelled of urine. Bugs in floor and bed. Old and dirty furniture. No extra pillow for sofa-bed. No extra sheets for sofa-bed. This property not up to normal Hampton standards. The property is about to undergo a complete remodel. Unfortunately, it did not happen before I checked in. Should be up to standards by Fall of 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I was disappointed that you went through some inconveniences while staying with us. I understand that you found our property to be somewhat dated and worn. I truly regret if you were disappointed in any way and sincerely apologize if we did not meet your expectations. We strive on providing our guests with an exceptional stay and I apologize if we did not deliver this for you. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I can assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our property.

Again, I thank you for your review and assure you that your feedback has been taken into consideration. I sincerely hope you give us another opportunity to stay with us next time you’re in town.

Jennifer Portera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

I just completed a statewide trip and stayed in two other Hampton Inns. In comparison, this one is massive. They are lacking an exercise room on the grounds, but provide a 3 hour pass to a local gym across the street. The manager's evening reception was the best of the three providing po boys, chips and choice of alcohol and non alcohol beverages. The rooms, while a little dated were spacious and offered some amenities that the newer did not provide. Mine was a suite with a kitchenette. Stove, full size fridge and microwave with a bar was included. The piol was clean and had nice seating with umbrellas.
Overall, I would stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review. I certainly hope you enjoyed our hotel and accommodations, and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future when our renovations are complete. Hope your future travels are safe, and again, we hope to see you soon. We love having you here!

Jennifer Portera
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a hotel with nice clean rooms, but this is LA, and the humidity hangs in the air permanently. This leads to a feeling of dampness, and a slight odor that will be everywhere, not just this hotel. As a warning, they are undergoing some major renovations right now (that I was not told about in advance), so the foyer and some of the first floor are trashed; no carpeting, have to eat breakfast in the foyer etc.

Having said that, it's like most Hampton Inn's. There is a good selection of foods available for breakfast, just expect to be crammed in like sardines for another couple of weeks. My room was clean and fresh, the carpets in the halls are a little worn.

Rooms are fairly well sound insulated, I barely heard my neighbors, and the beds are comfortable, I got a really great nights sleep.

My only complaint is the price. For an 'out of town' hotel, you pay the same price to stay as the Hampton Inn in New Orleans. They weren't offering a AAA discount when I was there. I guess when they can fill the Hotel, they can charge as much as they want. Front desk staff were friendly and attentive.

My BIG happy about this hotel; the maid service actually respected my wishes to reuse my towels. They wre hung right where I left them. THANK YOU!!!! This is my major hotel complaint usually, but they came through :-)

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking, get a low number. I was in room 250, and it was the furthest walk I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer P, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.

Jennifer Portera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood

Address: 5150 Mounes Street, Harahan, LA 70123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Harahan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harahan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Elmwood is conveniently located minutes from the New Orleans Airport in Elmwood Business Park. Featuring extended stay suites and flexible meeting rooms. You can attend business meetings and easily access all the arts, music, cuisine, and fun that makes New Orleans famous.The Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood offers all of the modern amenities you expect from a Hampton Inn and the convenience of being close enough to all of the action that New Orleans offers without the hassle of dealing with sparse parking and large crowds.Adjacent to shopping, dining, and The Palace movie theater, you have many entertainment choices just steps away from the hotel. We are just minutes from Alario Sports Center, LaSalle Playground, and Lafreniere Park. We are just a short drive to the French Quarter, Morial Convention Center, and the Superdome. The Hampton Inn and Suites Elmwood puts you near the best attractions in New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Elmwood
Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood Hotel Harahan
Harahan Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Harahan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Elmwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.