We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tope La

Tope La
104 North Cate Street, Hammond, LA 70401
985-542-7600
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 119 Restaurants in Hammond
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We had pecan crusted tilapia and shrimp on artichoke bed stack. Both were outstanding. Pricing was in line with a restaurant of quality service and food

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flower Mound, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal in downtown Hammond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Recently visited this restaurant for dinner with my son and his family of five, three little ones all under 7. We had a good experience, wait staff very patient with the family and the service was as expected. The menu was broad, somewhat pricey, but the overall experience was good. I would return to Tope La.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best restaurant in Hammond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

TopeLa is restaurant owned by chefs. The food is consistently delicious, every dish is perfect no matter what day of the week or time of the day one dines. Waitstaff are attentive and courteous. The bar is well stocked and the wine list reasonable. We never in the past ten years have ever had a disappointing experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OVERPRICED AVERAGE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

One of only two NICE restaurants in Hammond, this one has average food with a decent atmosphere. Too bad the (average) food is overpriced for the quality.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“not my type”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friends seem to like this place. They love the appetizers and they keep telling me that Tope La serves good American food. I had the overcooked pasta, which could have served a very hungry village. We have been here several times because we were celebrating an event, and each time, we go home with doggy bags. In my case, not so much because I really love the food, but rather because I could not possibly eat that much junk; overcooked, under seasoned, yet very pretty. If I don't go back there again, I don't think that I would mind at all...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tope La also viewed

 

Been to Tope La? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tope La, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.