We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value! Very Clean Rooms! Great Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Inn to your Saves list
Colonial Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Seale Dr, Hammond, LA 70403   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Hammond
Slidell, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Value! Very Clean Rooms! Great Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Great Value! Very Clean Rooms! Great Staff! Everybody very friendly, any request, for towel, toilet paper, local directions, followed up right away with a smile. Can't say enough about staff kept us supplyed with towels clean linen everyday. highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
10
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Our family stayed the night in August, and were quite pleased. Our room was clean, the staff was quite friendly, the price was reasonable, and the location was very convenient. The best part of the stay (other than the whole "finally out of the car after 12 hours of travel" thing): the shower!

Room Tip: Exterior entry, and pet-friendly with a very reasonable pet fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I wil never go back. The employees are very rude and can't speak English very well. The room was very dusty with carpet which was terrible for my allergies. The sheets were wrinkled ,the tub had soap scum. Truck stop beside it is extremely loud. The a/c filter was filthy. I will not go back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnhammond, Webmaster at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Colonial Inn for your last stay and for sparing the time to give us a review.

Our apologies for the inconvenience you had howsoever.

Things have changed lock, stock and barrel and now you will find everything sorted.

The front office staff have been trained and the hygiene, cleanliness and amenities have been professionally checked and maintained in order.

The noise pollution is well under control.

Please consider the changes and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms, ok breakfast, next to busy truck stop right off interstate. Great price for the room but the owners are very unfriendly! I would not stay here again, I would rather pay more to appreciative Americans.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonialnn-Hammond, Manager at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for taking time to write review about our hotel.I am glad you liked our rooms and our rates
but unfortunately you were not happy with the lady on the desk. I apologize for that,She did not mean to be unfriendly with you when you was checking out,she was busy on the phone when you came to check out. But she should have greeted you the way she suppose to. We do appreciate your business. I hope you accept our apology and give us a second chance to serve you better in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

this motel has excellent and secure truck parking the staff is friendly and helpful

Room Tip: great truck parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braxton, MS
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We are a group of motorcycle folks that have varying ages..We have been staying at this hotel for the Ponchatoula Strawberry Festival for 8 years..We have never been disappointed and our stay is a wonderful experience. It is located near lots of restuarants and fast food.
The continental breakfast is great and with the family owing this inn it makes for a very comfortable place to stay..We will always stay at this hotel when we are in the area....Thank you so much for a great place to stay..see ya next year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Audrea and Larry White

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We had great difficulty making reservations on the phone for this hotel. My son who lives in the area called ahead for pricing and availability, then my daughter called from the car with me to make a reservation. She was immediately told she needed to send a fax or email authorizing a credit card transaction over the phone. After finding a Starbucks to access the internet I called and was told they needed a fax or email to authorize the credit card. After more confusion as I provided the card information and began composing the email, the clerk (manager?) suddenly said because it was my room and my card there was no need for an email. He never bothered to ask my son, my daughter, or me who the reservation was for before assuming there was a third-party credit card involved; we assumed it was some silly, local, Louisiana procedure -- something my son has experienced many times. Either way it was annoying and unprofessional and there was no apology or acknowledgment when we checked in. The room was apparently one that hadn't received the touch-ups that others describe. While it looks like the furniture is newer, paint was peeling off in big sections above the shower. Holes in the wall had been patched but not painted. Smudges and dark marks were on the walls. The mattress was okay but there were just two thin pillows. The large truck stop across the parking lot provided a wide array of noises through the night. We were exhausted from a very long drive and slept fairly well; I'm not sure I can say the same if we were more alert. As a budget motel I didn't expect much and didn't get much, but I don't plan to stay here on future trips.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnhammond, Webmaster at Colonial Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hello Esteemed Guest,

We thank you for your stay at the Colonial Inn for your recent stay and the review.

We take all your observations – seriously.

In fact it always helps us to improve.

We have checked the credit card related issue and the concerned staff has been trained and instructed to be more professional.

We have individually checked and attended to the look and feel of the rooms, amenities and cleanliness of each room.

We are confident that you will find an even better experience with us next time.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Inn

Address: 200 Seale Dr, Hammond, LA 70403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Colonial Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Inn offers a variety of clean and comfortable rooms with high speed internet access, non smoking rooms available. Hot breakfast, many resturants and shopping facilities nearby. Onsite security cameras and security guard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Colonial Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.