We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chinese food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trey Yuen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Trey Yuen
2100 N Morrison Blvd, Hammond, LA 70401
(985) 345-6789
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 117 Restaurants in Hammond
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hammond, Louisiana
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Chinese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Trey Yuen is our favorite "order from the menu" Chinese restaurant. They have been in Hammond and Mandeville for years and are always busy. Every Monday they serve meals from the lunch menu for dinner at the lunch prices. Guaranteed you won't leave hungry! The helpings are humongous and delicious.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    5
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Trey Yuen was disappointing with Chewy Chewy Chicken”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Being new to this area, I was curious to Trey Yuen. The size of the restaurant impressed me from the outside. I liked it even more inside with its serene interiors and that they did not have a buffet. I was glad that here was a restaurant willing to break the mold of buffet style Chinese restaurant one finds all over the country. The lunch menu was a simple laminated yellow pamphlet, but I did not let myself be discouraged by that. The waiter encouraged me to get the Choo Choo Chicken. So I got that along with the wonton soup. The soup was good. But the Choo Choo Chicken was fried chicken nuggets topped with a sweet and spicy (more sweet than spicy) sauce and fried rice. Now, if I want to have fried chicken nuggets, I would go to McDonald's and not Tery Yuen. And to make matters worse, the chicken nuggets were chewy. I was seriously disappointed in the food despite going in with high expectations of having authentic Chinese food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
independence, LA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another fav”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Some of the best egg rolls. If you like chinese food, I will tell you I have never been disappointed here. Just do show up expecting a buffet of all you can eat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, LA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Be sure to go on Monday evening.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lunch specials good on Monday evening! Great food, great service. Have had Valentine banquets here for church and the staff is always ready to help! Food is great!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellant flavor and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After more than 50 years eating at Chinese restaurants across the country (and a few in Europe too), "this is some of the best I've had". The food is fresh and tasty but not overseasoned. I have always been a sucker for good fried rice since I was a child, and the "house fried rice" I ordered was loaded with crawfish tails , shrimp, chicken and pork and done to purfection. They let the flavor of the dish speak for itself in flavor and presentation. I just wish I could get here more often, as I'm usually travelling across the state to visit friends and family in New Orleans when the urge hits me to stop while I'm passing through the area. "Top notch food and service"!.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trey Yuen also viewed

 

Been to Trey Yuen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trey Yuen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.