We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Granddaughter had a great time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louisiana Children's Discovery Center

Louisiana Children's Discovery Center
113 N. Cypress Street, Hammond, LA 70401
985-340-9150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 things to do in Hammond
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Louisiana Children’s Discovery Center (a 501 C3 non-profit) is the premier children’s museum on the Northshore. It is the perfect place for families to learn and explore together. The interactive area is filled with unique, entertaining and educational areas to explore including innovative exhibits and displays that children can touch, climb or move and an art center equipped for messy, hands-on art making!
Hammond, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Granddaughter had a great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

great for kids especially on cold or rainy days, or when your little ones can't play outside. Lots of activities, plenty of staffing, noise level reasonable. its a great place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blytheville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing place!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

It's a smaller area but somehow my family and I were able to stay for over an hour and a half and enjoyed every minute of it!!! They dressed up and did a play, they played the apple slapping game, and loved the bubbles! Price was a bit steep but staff and games were great.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond, Louisiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun on a rainy day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We spent two hours with our three year old great nephew. Although he had been there before he loved it best this time. He especially liked milking the cow, being a server at Middndorf Restaurant, and making a fish in arts and crafts.

I would recommend taking the little news here. The Louisiana Discovery Center in Hammond is great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good for younger kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Good place for just a few hours but not all day. My child enjoyed playing but a day camp was there when we went and it was complete chaos! Te kids were running around crazy screaming and butting and pushing mine out of the way. Either go very early or later in day to avoid madhouse. The only downfall is I thought museum and because we visited Cleveland last year we went to some "real" museums and this was in no comparison to what Cleveland offers as museums. This should be considered a play center of sorts.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“a place to go...bc there's no ChuckeeCheese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My 14 month daughter likes to play and fiddle around the learning centers, but after an hour she becomes bored and not as stimulating. If there are kids that, she was be delighted.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana Children's Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to Louisiana Children's Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisiana Children's Discovery Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.