We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Hammond

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Hammond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Hammond
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   200 Westin Oak Dr, Hammond, LA 70403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Hammond
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I booked a suite with a hot tub at this Super 8 over the weekend as a treat while travelling. Yes, the location is great - just off the interstate and has a Cracker Barrell restaurant right across the street for a nice breakfast.
We checked in and drove around to park in front of our room. Underneath the stairs just outside our door and directly next to the parking space for our room was their choice of a place to store dozens of can of Airplane Paint Remover and various painting supplies. Considering the number of children running around (until after midnight) this made me very nervous. A child could get into it and be severely hurt, a bored kid may decide it would be funny to pour it on people's cars??, or a smoker may accidentally discard a cigarette butt to close and the whole thing could catch fire ! It is flammable and there was a lot of it (see pictures)
The room - supposed to be a suite - one chair, the TV had a bad picture, there were dead bugs -some beetle bugs, large fly looking bugs , a feather, and various bits of who knows what kind of trash on the carpet - clearly had not been vacuumed in a while! I did turn the covers back on the bed, it was nice and clean and the bugs on the floor were dead so we stayed - we were so tired.
Defiantly not worth the $112 it cost for the one night. If we had one ounce of energy left I would have found another place to stay. We do pass through Hammond regularly and usually stay at a different hotel - much cheaper - much cleaner, unfortunately they were booked solid and I thought the "suite" would be nice for a change. I was WRONG.
The only plus I can give them is the ladies that checked us in and out were very nice and professional.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Hammond, General Manager at Super 8 Hammond, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time and reviewing our hotel! I apologize that our hired contractor / painter left his supplies under the staircases during our renovation process! Those containers have been properly disposed of now as our hotel has received its brand new paint job! Soon we will start our 100% renovation of the guestrooms which will include new HD flatscreen TVs, new furniture & fixtures and our brand new Beautyrest Mattress / Bedding has already been implemented so guests can get a perfect nights sleep! If you are ever in the beautiful Hammond, Louisiana area again, come by and see us and take a look at how your comment has helped us better shape our hotel! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
16
17
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnet, Tx
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Super 8 location is great! They have been working to update things but have a ways to go. Furniture is very beat up. Rooms need to be thoroughly (deep) cleaned...sides of refrigerators and behind them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Hammond, General Manager at Super 8 Hammond, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you so much for taking the time and reviewing our hotel! Your comments help us shape the future of our hotel and we are excited to announce that our hotel will be undergoing a full renovation soon and we will be 100% renovated / refreshed! Come by and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hammond
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

There were stains on the comforter and shower curtain which was not appealing. Coffee pot did not work either. Couch was totally shot. Had spring issues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Hammond, General Manager at Super 8 Hammond, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and reviewing our hotel! If your travel plans ever bring you back to beautiful Hammond, Louisiana be sure to stop by! We are always improving our services and amenities to better serve our guests! New LED TVs & new furniture are on their way so our rooms can be renovated / refreshed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

My wife and I and some friends stayed here recently on a trip to New Orleans. The price was reasonable since we pre-purchased and saved us about 12 dollars a night. The rooms were pretty clean, some rooms were being renovated, you could tell that when you pulled up to the place. The beds were nice enough, comfortable and clean. Bathrooms were typical hotel bathrooms. The breakfast area is small and they have the standard quick breakfast: Cereal, waffles, some fruit, doughnuts, etc...nothing great about the breakfast. It was pretty quiet at night, no real problems sleeping. It is conveniently located near the interstate, but didn't really hear the noise, so that was a plus. Overall, a good stay, nothing fancy. If we are back in this area, we will stay here again. A pretty good deal, if that's what you are looking for...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Hammond, General Manager at Super 8 Hammond, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and reviewing our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and if your travel plans ever bring you back to beautiful Hammond, Louisiana be sure to stop by! We are always improving our services and amenities to better serve our guests! New LED TVs & new furniture are on their way so our rooms can be renovated / refreshed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here to travel to New Orleans. Spent 2 nights. Hotel is under renovations. Some rooms were not completed yet. People were friendly, breakfast waffle maker and packaged cinnamon rolls and cereal. Close to lots of things. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Hammond, General Manager at Super 8 Hammond, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to accommodate you again if your travel plans brought you back to beautiful Hammond, Louisiana! We are going to be renovating our hotel 100% so our guests can enjoy and fully refreshed / renovated hotel! Come by and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed for two nights in April 2014. The rooms had a dingy, cave like quality to them. Technically, they might have been clean, but I still felt apprehensive about touching the surfaces. We had a single and a double, and did appreciate some of the appointments, but they in a dilapidated state. One of the refrigerators was rusty. The couch in the single was broken.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Hammond, General Manager at Super 8 Hammond, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel! We promise to get it right the next time as we are going to be renovating our hotel 100% so our guests can enjoy and fully refreshed / renovated hotel! Come by and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Hammond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Hammond

Address: 200 Westin Oak Dr, Hammond, LA 70403
Location: United States > Louisiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Hammond 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Super 8 Hammond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hammond Hotel Hammond
Super Eight Hammond
Hammond Super Eight
Hammond Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Hammond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.