We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant
1106 South Holly Street, Hammond, LA 70403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hammond B&B and Inns
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our stay at the Inn was wonderful! We loved the decor of all the rooms. Out room was upstairs, and so comfortable! That evening we enjoyed a soak in the hot. The breakfast the next day was splendid! Perfect get away destination as well as wedding site!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed only one night in one of suites, enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub and Community coffee in the room. Only complaint would be the number of loose tiles and uneven floor. Service was exceptional and friendly, even have us a tour of all the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

David Bradley and the staff at the Michabelle run a lovely B&B that is perfect for a relaxing weekend. The grounds, the main house and the cottage suites are all absolutely lovely! I stayed in the Orleans Suite, which is beautifully decorated with a wonderful jet tub and separate shower. My suite was equipped with an incredibly comfortable bed, a microwave, mini-fridge and a flat screen tv in both the bedroom and the adjacent living room (complete with pull-out couch). Breakfast for two is included and served in the main house. You must try Mr. Bradley's famous omelet; it is divine! I visited the Michabelle in December and found the Christmas decorations to be truly beautiful. I whole-heartedly recommend the Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant to anyone looking for a B&B in or around the Hammond, LA area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our only problem with this B & B was deciding which room to choose, as they are all so stunning and uniquely decorated. We chose the Marie Antoinette room which was just as beautiful as advertised. We were travelling from Memphis and chose to stay one night at Hammond on our way to New Orleans, and our only regret was we did not have longer.

The house is meticulously decorated both inside and out and the grounds were beautiful. We were also fortunate to be the only guests for the night of our stay. This is a family run business and everyone was polite, and friendly. Breakfast was served in a nice dining room, and was tasty.

The property is very close to Hammond itself which has a reasonable range of fast food and other restaurants. Or you can always eat at the Michabelle. We didn't have dinner there but if the breakfast was anything to go by, I'm sure it would be great.

TIP: If you are heading to New Orleans and want to do a swamp tour - the Cajun Pride Swamp tour is on the way to New Orleans and we did this tour after leaving the B&B to avoid having to pay for the (expensive) shuttle bus or travel back out of New Orleans. The tour is definitely worth doing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in one of the Suites, situated in a separate one-story house on the property. It was quiet, even though all of the suites had occupants. The antiques were beautiful, and the modern upgrades were great.

The main house was beautiful. We enjoyed the breakfast, which all tasted homemade (vs. one review we read where they thought everything was frozen). The omlets were freshly made for us, and very good. Dave, the owner, was very personable and ensured everything was as we liked.

Very good value - price of a room here was comparable to the holiday inn located next to the highway in Hammond, but with a MUCH better atmosphere.

Make sure you don't miss the Kleiberts Turtle and Alligator farm - its fun!

Room Tip: If you don't need lots of privacy, I'd recommend staying in the main house on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

One star given because I could not submit review with less.

We stayed here because of the great reviews and we were deeply disappointed. The place was a DUMP, to put it as nicely as possible.

- The "cottages" were really an old trailer hidden by half-dead bamboo trees.

- The room smelled dank, musty, and moldy.

- The throw rugs were disgustingly filthy; I would not walk on them without shoes.

- The jacuzzi tub had a leaking faucet and mold inside the jets - not so "romantic."

- The breakfast was not the "pleasure to the eye as well as the taste buds" as claimed, but rather an inedible mess that should never have been taken out of the freezer. The omelet had no flavor. The fruit cocktail was a partially defrosted out-of-season frozen fruit medley topped with Cool Whip. The croissant and mini-muffins, although defrosted completely, tasted like the refrigerator. And the tea tasted like cardboard.

I am left with the conclusion that the other reviews must have been planted as there is no way possible for them to be accurate. Looked at closely, the writing patterns and verbiage of some of the other reviews are very similar.

Do not waste your time or money going to this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Accommodations lovely...breakfast very good. Train noise at night....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1106 South Holly Street, Hammond, LA 70403
Location: United States > Louisiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michabelle is the perfect place for a romantic getaway or to celebrate life and success ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.