We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1106 South Holly Street, Hammond, LA 70403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hammond B&B and Inns
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

David Bradley and the staff at the Michabelle run a lovely B&B that is perfect for a relaxing weekend. The grounds, the main house and the cottage suites are all absolutely lovely! I stayed in the Orleans Suite, which is beautifully decorated with a wonderful jet tub and separate shower. My suite was equipped with an incredibly comfortable bed, a microwave, mini-fridge and a flat screen tv in both the bedroom and the adjacent living room (complete with pull-out couch). Breakfast for two is included and served in the main house. You must try Mr. Bradley's famous omelet; it is divine! I visited the Michabelle in December and found the Christmas decorations to be truly beautiful. I whole-heartedly recommend the Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant to anyone looking for a B&B in or around the Hammond, LA area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    11
    0
    3
    3
See reviews for
9
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our only problem with this B & B was deciding which room to choose, as they are all so stunning and uniquely decorated. We chose the Marie Antoinette room which was just as beautiful as advertised. We were travelling from Memphis and chose to stay one night at Hammond on our way to New Orleans, and our only regret was we did not have longer.

The house is meticulously decorated both inside and out and the grounds were beautiful. We were also fortunate to be the only guests for the night of our stay. This is a family run business and everyone was polite, and friendly. Breakfast was served in a nice dining room, and was tasty.

The property is very close to Hammond itself which has a reasonable range of fast food and other restaurants. Or you can always eat at the Michabelle. We didn't have dinner there but if the breakfast was anything to go by, I'm sure it would be great.

TIP: If you are heading to New Orleans and want to do a swamp tour - the Cajun Pride Swamp tour is on the way to New Orleans and we did this tour after leaving the B&B to avoid having to pay for the (expensive) shuttle bus or travel back out of New Orleans. The tour is definitely worth doing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in one of the Suites, situated in a separate one-story house on the property. It was quiet, even though all of the suites had occupants. The antiques were beautiful, and the modern upgrades were great.

The main house was beautiful. We enjoyed the breakfast, which all tasted homemade (vs. one review we read where they thought everything was frozen). The omlets were freshly made for us, and very good. Dave, the owner, was very personable and ensured everything was as we liked.

Very good value - price of a room here was comparable to the holiday inn located next to the highway in Hammond, but with a MUCH better atmosphere.

Make sure you don't miss the Kleiberts Turtle and Alligator farm - its fun!

Room Tip: If you don't need lots of privacy, I'd recommend staying in the main house on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

One star given because I could not submit review with less.

We stayed here because of the great reviews and we were deeply disappointed. The place was a DUMP, to put it as nicely as possible.

- The "cottages" were really an old trailer hidden by half-dead bamboo trees.

- The room smelled dank, musty, and moldy.

- The throw rugs were disgustingly filthy; I would not walk on them without shoes.

- The jacuzzi tub had a leaking faucet and mold inside the jets - not so "romantic."

- The breakfast was not the "pleasure to the eye as well as the taste buds" as claimed, but rather an inedible mess that should never have been taken out of the freezer. The omelet had no flavor. The fruit cocktail was a partially defrosted out-of-season frozen fruit medley topped with Cool Whip. The croissant and mini-muffins, although defrosted completely, tasted like the refrigerator. And the tea tasted like cardboard.

I am left with the conclusion that the other reviews must have been planted as there is no way possible for them to be accurate. Looked at closely, the writing patterns and verbiage of some of the other reviews are very similar.

Do not waste your time or money going to this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2015
Alex,
Since we were closed for the month that you claimed to stay here I wonder if you might be confused about where you actually stayed. This is not as much a review as a rant. Please contact me directly.
David Bradley
9854190550
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Accommodations lovely...breakfast very good. Train noise at night....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed in the Orleans Suite which is the largest of the suites. It had a separate living room area with a couch, TV, desk, table and chairs, and access to the cottage's front porch. The bedroom contains a romantic king sized bed. barrel ceilings, elegant woodwork, and full sized Jacuzzi bathtub. The Orleans suite is ideal for families traveling with children, featuring a sleep sofa in the separate living room. The bedroom also features cable, TV, mini-fridge and microwave.

It is located failry close to New Orleans, and we felt like we were staying in Disney's haunted mansion which we loved. We asked the house lady if it was haunted, and she said no. I can contest there were no noises, or anything spooky at all during our stay. The awesome part was the bamboo walkway which had frogs, and other animal life. Being from southern california, this was much different than where we live. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I arrived on a rainy evening in the middle of an outdoor wedding. And the hosts couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. It must have been a stressful time for them, but they took the time to show me around and make me feel at home. My room was very large and well appointed, located in the main house The bathroom had plenty of storage space and the tub was large and very clean. There was a common balcony porch off my room too. The house is beautiful from the front and well cared for. Some things that bear mentioning because they are unusual in a historic home are: excellent lighting, flat screen TV, good mattress and linens, very clean and dust free. Slept quietly and well even with the rather large wedding reception going on at the adjacent party facility. An excellent breakfast was served and although there were separate tables, there was plenty of chatting amongst guests and hosts. I would definitely recommend this to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1106 South Holly Street, Hammond, LA 70403
Location: United States > Louisiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Michabelle is the perfect place for a romantic getaway or to celebrate life and success ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Michabelle Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.