We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, EVEN BETTER STAFF !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
IHG Travelocity
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1819 SW Railroad Avenue, Hammond, LA 70403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Hammond
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place, EVEN BETTER STAFF !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was here just for a quick business visit and this place is conveniently located beside the mall so I had the chance to take a small detour and get something for me and the misses at home.
The rooms are very clean and COMFY and the place looks brand new ! It is located right beside some nice trees also.
There are some great restaurants around the area and a couple of bars/pubs which might be get going at night!
I will definitely be back and this time maybe for a couple of vacation days, I enjoy my visit at Hammond.

Oh, and I went out for dinner and forgot my messenger bag at the restaurant. Brandon from the front desk helped me out by calling the place and have them hold it for me. He was a great host.

Thanks!!

Room Tip: Didnt try the breakfast, but it is not free. This is normal on Holiday Inns that are not express. D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Wow!! Thank you for such a great review!!! It is humbling as well as appreciated! We love our guests and so happy it shows!

As for breakfast, you are right, we are not an express so normally breakfast is an additional cost. With that being said, we have structured a rate plan that will include breakfast in the room rate. We did this because so many did confuse us as an Express with a free continental breakfast and rather have them leave angry...we adjusted the way we operate.

We look forward to your return trip and if I can be of assistance to you personally...please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
6
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stopped to spend the night and I was greatly impressed. The staff was great. The hotel very clean the GM greeted us and offered us complementary wine and beer. Seems like they have a managers special twice a week that ended at 7 and she extended it when she saw us arrive. Nice touch. Room was clean and plenty of towels 6 of each size. They have a small bar and restaurant so it was nice not to have to go out to get a bite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for that very kind review. I remember you when you came in and have to say that your personality made our ability to serve an added pleasure! We do love our guests and hope that should you be in our area again...please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We checked in VERY late at night or VERY early, depending on one's perspective, as we we were overly ambitious in trying to get to Panama City Beach in one drive. Check in was easy, the staff was pleasant, the room was clean & the beds were very comfortable. Our standards may have been low due to exhaustion, but I really do think we would have stayed here under different circumstances. There were "less expensive" options close by, but I am sure we made the right choice. No noise issues. I hadn't stayed at a Holiday Inn in ages and was pleasantly surprised to see that they've obviously really changed. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so very much for that kind review. It is hard traveling that many hours and then trying to check in to a hotel so I am glad that our staff was pleasant. It is our goal to provide exceptional service as well as product.

We hope that if you are ever in our area again, that you will stay with us. If I can be of assistance to you in future, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our way to Gulf Shores. The staff was supper friendly. The room was nice, however, we had a noisy person upstairs that was up all night, which seemed like every hour on the hour. Also, there is a train track very close by. The AC was also of the noisy variety. Wish they had offered a free breakfast. We didn't try the restaurant but the menu looked good. We had dinner at the Santa Fe Steakhouse and it was very good. There are lots of restaurants close by.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is our goal to provide an exceptional experience for each and every traveler, however judging from your comments we fell short of our goal. Please accept my profound apology for a less than perfect experience. Surprisingly, we do not get very many noise complaints from the train even with the proximity of the tracks. That being said, it is not unheard of and I am sorry if that noise and the guest above did disrupt the peacefulness of your stay. We like our guests' well rested.

If you are ever passing this way again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will make sure we take better care of you.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stopped in for the night while traveling home from Texas. This holiday inn was by far the nicest that we've had the pleasure of visiting. We always stay at holiday inns or holiday in express. Very pleased. Restaurant was awesome, front desk wonderful. Rooms clean, up to date.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so very much for that kind review. Our guests' mean the world to us and we do our best to reflect that in our performance, attitude, and service. It says volumes about a person's character when they take the time to complete a positive review when they could simply just be satisfied that their needs and comfort were met. We appreciate it when all of our guests take that extra step so much so that to just say,"Thank you" hardly seems enough.

We hope to see you again real soon!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocola, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stopped here on our way home from Florida, hotel is very nice and clean.
They don't have a free breakfast but do have a nice looking restaurant available.
Platinum priority member so we stay at a lot of HI and this is a good one with great southern hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank You very much for your kind review. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations at every opportunity, so when someone takes the time to write such a nice review...we really appreaciate it.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Gretchen, you should at least offer a continental breakfast if you aren't going to include breakfast with the room. 11 bucks for breakfast is ridiculous, your not in Paris. Snooty staff who don't realize they have work because of people like me. Will skip this town next time I come through.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen T, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We had at one time thought about including the full hot breakfast buffet to the room rate across the board, but were advised against it. We do have some rates that are sold online that include breakfast...just not all.

We put a full hot breakfast and a continental breakfast out for that price, as well as having a substantial menu in which to make a selection from.

As for the "snooty employee", I apologize and that behavior is never tolerated. If you would like to contact me directly, I would be more than happy to get further details and address that situation.

Warm regards,
Gretchen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore Hotel Hammond
Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore Hotel
Address: 1819 SW Railroad Avenue, Hammond, LA 70403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Hammond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Hammond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors can enjoy the unique charm of a historic Louisiana city when they stay at the Holiday Inn® Northshore, Hammond's only Full Service Hotel. Hammond is situated at the intersection of I-12 and I-55, placing both Baton Rouge and New Orleans within easy reach.Our location in Hammond ensures that guests have many ways to enjoy themselves. We are located right across Railroad Avenue from Hammond Square Mall and just a 2 minute from the Downtown Area. The hotel is a quick 5 minute drive down I-12 from Hammond's new Chappapeela Sports Park. Architecture enthusiasts can venture downtown to Hammond's historic district and stroll amongst the weathered brick buildings while shopping. History buffs can visit the Tangipahoa African American Heritage Museum, a stop on the Louisiana African American Heritage Trail. Golfers can enjoy the sculpted greens at the nearby Carter Plantation golf course. Hammond is also home to Southeastern Louisiana University and the Columbia Theatre.Business travelers should take advantage of the hotel's property as well. North Oaks Medical Center is just minutes away, as are many other Hammond businesses. The hotel's corporate travelers can easily take advantage of the 3,000 square feet of meeting space, with projectors and sound systems. We also have copy and fax services available in our 24 hour Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Hammond - Northshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.